In one place, all results and coverage from Election Day in SLO County

Here are the key races in San Luis Obispo County and the latest results on Election Day 2018, all in one place:

The last ballot count from the County Clerk’s Office was reported at 11:10 a.m. on Wednesday. Updated counts are expected on Friday and Tuesday. The results of this election will not be certified until the end of the month.

Read Next

Local elections

MEASURE G: Measure G failed. Here’s what that means for SLO County’s future

San Luis Obispo County voters appear to have rejected a measure that would ban new oil wells and fracking in unincorporated areas of the county, according to initial mail-in ballots and precinct reports on Wednesday.

• •

SAN LUIS OBISPO: SLO Mayor Heidi Harmon vows to bridge community divide after big win

Heidi Harmon will serve a second term as San Luis Obispo’s mayor with Wednesday returns showing a wide lead over challenger T. Keith Gurnee. Fellow incumbent Carlyn Christianson and newcomer Erica Stewart will likely win two open City Council seats.

• •

ARROYO GRANDE: Arroyo Grande might have elected its first female mayor in more than 30 years

Caren Ray is poised to become Arroyo Grande’s next mayor, while Jimmy Paulding and Keith Storton appear to have won two open City Council seats.

• •

ATASCADERO: Atascadero will have a woman-led council as two newcomers top the vote

Heather Newsom and Susan Funk will likely capture the two open seats on the Atascadero City Council. Councilwoman Heather Moreno, who ran unopposed, will become the city’s next mayor.

• •

GROVER BEACH: Jeff Lee wins mayor in Grover Beach — Mariam Shah, Barbara Nicolls hold on to council seats

Jeff Lee will succeed John Shoals to become Grover Beach’s next mayor. Incumbent council members Mariam Shah and Barbara Nicholls will likely keep their seats on the council.

• •

MORRO BAY: Headding holds slim lead in Morro Bay mayor race; Addis the top council vote-getter

Morro Bay mayoral candidate John Headding appears to have edged out his competitor with a razor thin lead. Dawn Addis and Jeff Heller will likely win two open City Council seats.

• •

PASO ROBLES: Paso sends a woman to the council for the first time in 34 years; incumbents re-elected

Maria Elena Garcia is on the cusp of becoming the first woman elected to the Paso Robles City Council in more than three decades. She and incumbent Councilman John Hamon will likely take the two council seats up for grabs. Incumbent Mayor Steve Martin appears to have won his second term in office.

State races

»» In third straight loss, Justin Fareed concedes defeat to Rep. Salud Carbajal

»» Jordan Cunningham headed back to Sacramento after big re-election win

Asking the Tough Questions

This election matters. From local city council races to California’s ballot propositions, The Tribune is committed to providing the best political coverage on the Central Coast.

And after the ballots are counted, our reporters work to hold elected officials accountable and ask the tough questions you need answered.

Support local journalism: Sign up for a digital subscription to The Tribune today.