Final official election results: Lynn Compton seals victory

Lynn Compton has defeated Jimmy Paulding and will keep her seat on the San Luis Obispo County Board of Supervisors, final official election results posted late Friday morning show.

Compton's victory will preserve a conservative majority on the county board.

The incumbent supervisor won the razor-thin race by collecting 60 more votes than Paulding out of 18,324 counted — a victory of 50.16 percent to 49.84, according to a report posted at 11:43 a.m. by the county Clerk-Recorder's Office.

The District 4 seat represents South County, encompassing Arroyo Grande, Oceano, Nipomo and parts of Edna Valley.

Compton waited for the election results to be certified Friday before claiming victory.

In a statement issued Friday afternoon, she thanked people in her campaign and all of the District 4 voters, before adding that her day is tinged with sadness as she plans to travel out of state to visit her ailing father.

"These dedicated volunteers walked countless precincts, watched ballots being counted, organized events, etc., and I could not have prevailed without them. Additionally, I wish to thank my family and friends for having to listen to campaign issues that dominated the conversations for the last year.

"Last, but certainly not least, a big thank you to the voters of the Fourth District. I look forward to representing them again for another term to accomplish our mutual goals.

"As we close this chapter, I am headed back to Indiana as my father is back in the hospital again after a very difficult year, so today is bittersweet to say the least but it definitely puts life back into perspective," Compton said.

Paulding released a statement to media outlets wishing Compton well in her service of the county.

"This campaign has been a tremendous experience. I am so fortunate to have met and worked with so many wonderful members of the community. My wife and I are very grateful to all those who supported us. We are excited to continue working with everyone in this community to — little by little — make it better than it already is," Paulding said.

"I wish Ms. Compton the best in her second term as county supervisor."

A final report showed 87,470 votes were counted countywide out of 166,592 registered voters — a 52.5 percent voter turnout.

No other race in the county came as close in this primary election; Here are the final official local winners in the June primary.

  • Judge seat No. 2: Hernaldo Baltodano won with 65.3 percent to Andy Cadena's 34.7 percent.

  • Judge seat #No. 4: Tim Covello won with 63.9 percent to Ilan Funke-Bilu's 36.1 percent.

  • District 2 supervisor: Bruce Gibson won with 59.4 percent to Jeff Eckles' 34.1 percent and Patrick E.B. Sparks' 6.5 percent.

  • Assessor: Tom J. Bordonaro Jr. won with 60.9 percent to David Boyer's 39.1 percent.

  • District Attorney: Dan Dow won with 64.3 percent to Judge Mike Cummins' 35.7 percent.

  • Sheriff-Coroner: Ian S. Parkinson won with 60.5 percent to Gregory Morris Clayton's 39.5 percent.

  • Measure B-18, county cannabis tax: Passed with 76.37 percent voting yes.

  • Measure A-18, Cambria fire tax: Failed with 53.64 percent voting yes. It needed two-thirds approval to pass.
Related stories from San Luis Obispo Tribune