High School Sports

SLO High’s CeCe Devaney and Callum Bolger top individuals, Arroyo Grande sweeps team competitions at Elks San Luis Obispo County Track and Field Championships

Two San Luis Obispo track and field athletes took home top individual honors Saturday in the 42nd Elks San Luis Obispo County Track and Field Championships at Cuesta College, as CeCe Devaney was named Outstanding Field Athlete and Callum Bolger co-Outstanding Track Performer.

Bolger shared honors with Templeton’s Clayton Mackay. Paso Robles’ Ashley Davis was named outstanding track performer for the girls, Arroyo Grande’s Eddie Chagoya was the outstanding boys field performer.

Devaney won the discus (124 feet, 9 inches), the high jump (5-0), placed third in the long jump (15-11 1/4 ) and was sixth in the shot put (34-0).

“Discus and high jump don’t go well together, and neither does the long jump and the shot. She’s very versatile, has natural athleticism and puts in a lot of hard work,” San Luis Obispo coach Adam Basch said.

Bolger won the 800 in 1 minute, 57.16 seconds and the 1,600 in 4:14.93.

“I’m super proud of Callum for his work ethic, his ability to race competitively when it matters and also demonstrate good sportsmanship,” Basch said. “I’m looking forward to watching them compete (as the season progresses).”

Mackay won both the 110 hurdles (15.43), the 300 hurdles (38.05) and anchored the winning 4x400 relay (3:29.56). Mackay also was on the 4x100 team that placed fourth (45.75). His 300 hurdle time is a meet record, and the seventh-fastest time in the state this year, coach Don Crow said.

Davis won a pair of events, the 800 (2:22.78) and the 1,600 (5:02.84) for Paso Robles. Freshman Audrey McClish was fifth in the 1,600 for Morro Bay (5:15.65).

Chagoya recorded wins in the shot put (52-5 1/2 ) and the discus (148-9) for Arroyo Grande.

Arroyo Grande took both the boys team title (139 points) and the girls title (123.5), followed by San Luis Obispo (125, 99) and Paso Robles (104, 80.5), who were second and third in both competitions.

On the boys side, Templeton was fourth (60), followed by Atascadero (37). On the girls side, Atascadero was fourth (73) and Mission Prep was fifth (56.6).

For the girls, Paige Baxstresser won the 100 meters (12.84) and 200 meters (26.13) for Mission Prep, followed by Atascadero’s Brittney McKinley in each event.

San Luis Obispo’s Sarah Attala, a sophomore, won the 100 hurdles (16.52). Kirsten Purcell won the 400 for Atascadero at 59.60.

Cristal Aguirre won the 300 hurdles for Arroyo Grande, and teammate Samantha Henkel was first in the shot put at 40-5, trailed by Jordynn Dorado of Nipomo at 37-8.

Templeton’s Sienna Stinson won the pole vault, clearing 11-7, and Codie Wilshusen of Paso Robles was second, also at 11-7. Morro Bay’s Roxanne Nolan was fourth at 10-0.

Arroyo Grande’s Josephine Graeber won the long jump with a mark of 16-9 3/4 , followed by Shaina Morris of San Luis Obispo (16-7 3/4 ).

Graeber also won the triple jump (36-5).

On the boys side, Luis Armendariz won the 3,200 (9:41.74) for Paso Robles, followed by Christian Ricketts of Arroyo Grande (9:47.57) and James Sever of Coastal Christian (9:53.88).

James Higgins cleared 14-0 to win the pole vault for San Luis Obispo, and Alex Cecchi won the long jump for Arroyo Grande at 21-10.

Vincent Ketelaar was first in the high jump for Arroyo Grande (6-2), followed by Mission Prep’s Max Basile (6-0).

There were co-outstanding performers in the boys frosh/soph division, with Caius Cowgill of San Luis Obispo and Nate Higgins sharing the honors. Cowgill and Higgins teamed with Branden Dolezal and Dylan Archer to help the Tigers set a meet record in the 4x100 relay in 44.86 seconds, and they helped the Tigers to a win in the 4x400 relay with Dolezal and Archer.

Cowgill also set a meet record in the 200 in 23.08 seconds. He finished second in the 400 as well. Higgins won the 400 and finished second in the 200.

Two athletes also shared the girls frosh/soph outstanding performer award. San Luis Obispo’s Maddie Fletcher won the 200, 800 and was part of the winning 4x400 relay with Chloe Carlson, Kylie Haidet and Elena Kramer. Arroyo Grande’s Taryn Tweedy was part of the winning 4x100 relay with Taylor Carolan, Riley McGinty and Sam Neil, and also won the 100 and the pole vault.

The Elks Lodge 2504 in Oceano has been sponsoring the event 1983.

The League Prelims will be held Friday at Atascadero beginning at 2 p.m. Click here for complete meet results.