High School Sports

PAC 8 water polo tournament begins play

The top-seeded Righetti High water polo won both of its matches Tuesday in the opening round of the PAC 8 tournament, including a 17-3 win over Atascadero.

No. 2 seed Arroyo Grande also won both of its matches and will face Righetti for the PAC 8 championship on Thursday.

The tournament kicked off with a thrilling overtime match between Atascadero (No. 4 seed) and Paso Robles (5). Down by a goal with 1:35 to play in the fourth period, Atascadero’s Kyler Warden beat goalie Gabe Hindley to even the score at 10. Atascadero’s Scott Beraue scored two goals in the overtime period and the Greyhounds came away with a 12-11 win. Beraue finished the match with five goals.

The Righetti Warriors, who were undefeated in league play heading into the tournament, handed Paso Robles its second loss of the tournament in a 22-3 performance. Righetti’s Caleb Sandberg led all scorers with eight goals.

Arroyo Grande opened with a 16-2 win over St. Joseph (7), scoring seven goals in the final period. Josh Jewell had four goals in a match where nine Eagles players netted goals.

No. 3 San Luis Obispo defeated No. 6 Pioneer Valley 12-7 on the strength of five third-period goals. San Luis Obispo’s Shey Dorji (2), Ben Hurley (2) and Dylan Hughes (4) scored multiple goals for the Tigers. Pioneer Valley’s Chance Skaufel led all scorers with six goals.

Arroyo Grande later beat San Luis Obispo 11-3, with Josh Smith and Josh Jewell each scoring three goals for the Eagles. Ethan Klemowicz had a pair of goals and Jack Alexander and Ryan Hoover each had one for Arroyo Grande. Galen Penvenne scored two goals and Dylan Hughes had another for the Tigers.

In its second match of the day, Pioneer Valley defeated St. Joseph 11-8. Dante Hodge had four goals for the Panthers in the win.

Righetti’s Ryker Darcus scored five goals and Tanner Redman added three more in the Warriors second win of the day.

The second round of play continues Thursday at 3 p.m. with the fifth place match between Paso Robles and Pioneer Valley followed by the third place match between San Luis Obispo and Atascadero. The final between Arroyo Grande and Righetti is set to tip off at 6 p.m. Righetti defeated Arroyo Grande 14-6 the last time the two teams met.