College Sports

Cuesta College baseball team sweeps Western State Conference postseason honors

Cuesta College’s Louis Raymond was selected as the Western State Conference Pitcher of the Year.
Cuesta College’s Louis Raymond was selected as the Western State Conference Pitcher of the Year.

After winning its first Western State Conference title since 2013, the Cuesta College baseball team was well represented when the all-conference awards were released Wednesday evening.

Sophomore centerfielder Dustin Miller was named the Western State Conference Player of the Year, and sophomore right-hander Louis Raymond was chosen as the Western State Conference Pitcher of the Year.

Miller is batting .341 this season and led the Cougars in at-bats (167), runs (35), hits (57) and triples (five). Raymond went 9-2 overall on the mound, including a 6-0 mark against conference opponents. His 1.42 ERA is the fourth-best in the state and remains on pace to set the school record.

Head coach Bob Miller was named the Western State Conference Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his 14-year career.

Pitchers Brendan Jenkins and Neil Uskali, catcher Nate Javine, shortstop Garrett Giovannelli and designated hitter Tanner Bos also received first-team all-conference recognition.

Relief pitcher Dan Beavers and third baseman Josh Medina were named to the second team.

Reliever Anthony Baleto and outfielders Nick Rutckyi and Nick Burnham garnered honorable mention recognition.

Cuesta is scheduled to host Chaffey in the second round of the CCCAA playoffs beginning at 2 p.m. Friday.

Cuesta softball players honored

Cuesta College softball players Demi Danell and Ami Hood were named to the Western State Conference first team Wednesday afternoon.

Danell, voted the team’s most valuable player, was a dynamic pitcher and hitter for the Cougars during their 26-13 campaign. She went 20-10 in the circle with a 1.91 ERA, becoming the fourth pitcher in Cuesta history to win 20 games in a single season.

Offensively, Danell led the Cougars with a .415 batting average and 32 RBI.

Hood batted .330 on the season and led the team in runs (34), doubles (14), home runs (three) and was hit by a school-record 11 pitches.

Freshman shortstop and San Luis Obispo High graduate Sabina Ybarra and outfielder Cheyenne Hufstetler of Atascadero garnered second-team all-conference recognition.

Centerfielder Keana Arnold and catcher Savannah Gonzales received honorable mention.

Mustang golfers recognized

Cal Poly men’s golfers Justin De Los Santos and Cole Nygren garnered first-team all-Big West Conference recognition, according to a release from the school Wednesday.

Sophomore Jesse Yap was a second team selection. All three golfers played key roles in helping the Mustangs finish second at the Big West Tournament last week at Wood Ranch Golf Club in Simi Valley.

De Los Santos, a junior from Chatsworth and the 2015 Big West Tournament medalist, led Cal Poly with a 72.5 scoring average this season and recorded four top-10 finishes.

Nygren, this year’s Big West Tournament runner-up, carded a 72.6 scoring average and matched De Los Santos with four top-10 finishes.

UC Santa Barbara’s Brandon Bauman earned Big West Men’s Golf Player of the Year. UC Davis’ Ryan Knop was chosen as the Big West Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year, and UC Riverside’s Rick Todd garnered Big West Men’s Golf Coach of the Year accolades.