The Cambrian

School, health care and community services seats up for grabs in November

Christopher Chun casts his vote at the polls at the Zion Lutheran Church in San Luis Obispo.
Christopher Chun casts his vote at the polls at the Zion Lutheran Church in San Luis Obispo.

Now that the primary election is over (finally), candidates, voters and pundits are turning their attention toward the Nov. 8 general election.

The Coast Unified School District is planning ahead, sponsoring a “So you think you want to be a board member” presentation at a special meeting that starts at 7 p.m. Thursday, June 16, in the district board room, 1350 Main St., Cambria.

Trustees Lee McFarland and Sue Nash will bring potential candidates and other interested people up to speed on election timelines and what’s involved with running for and ultimately serving on a school board.

Candidates for the general election can toss their hats in the ring between July 18 and Aug. 12, although nonincumbents have until Aug. 17 to file if a director or trustee doesn’t seek another term.

According to district records, seats currently held by trustees McFarland, Nash, Cindy Fratto and Tiffany Silva will be up for election in November. School officials say Fratto has indicated she doesn’t plan to run again. Silva was appointed in August to serve the remainder of Judith Hillen’s term. Hillen moved out of the district.

The meeting also includes public hearings on the district’s proposed 2016-17 budget and reserves, and the CUSD Local Control Accountability Plan and expenditures. A closed session at 5 p.m. in the business office conference room deals with labor negotiations and updates on other employee issues.

Other North Coast seats up for election in November include those for:

▪  Cambria Community Services District — Board President Gail Robinette and directors Amanda Rice and Greg Sanders. The latter was appointed in October to complete the rest of Muril Clift’s term. The board’s next meeting is 12:30 p.m. Thursday, June 23, in the Veterans Memorial Building, 1000 Main St. For details, call 927-6223.

▪  San Simeon Community Services District — Board President Dan Williams, Vice President Alan Fields, and directors Leroy Price and John Russell (Russell was appointed in March to complete Ralph McAdam’s term). The board’s next meeting is Wednesday, July 13, in the Plaza del Cavalier Banquet Room, 250 San Simeon Ave., San Simeon. Details, 927-4778.

▪  Cambria Community Healthcare District — Board President Kristi Jenkins and Trustee Barbara Bronson-Gray. The board’s next meeting is Tuesday, June 28, at Rabobank, 1070 Main St. Details, 927-8304.

▪  Cambria Cemetery District — No election involved. The three-member board is appointed by the San Luis Obispo County supervisor. Current members are Ken Eberle (whose appointment runs through Aug. 25, 2017), Ray Hopkins Aug. 25, 2018) and David Wierenga (Nov. 10, 2015). Details, call 927-5158.

As for Tuesday’s primary, lead inspector Norman Stone said at the polls about 4 p.m. that things were “slower overall” at the Cambria Veterans Memorial Building.

Allison Groves of Cambria, a member of the Buildout Reduction Committee, placed fifth in her bid for a spot on the Democratic Central Committee with 12.37 percent. Lara Storm won with 22.54 percent.

Regional results

Cayucos Fire Tax — Cayucos residents rejected a proposed special tax assessment for fire protection and emergency services, sending Measure C-16 to defeat by a 20-point margin. The measure would have raised the town’s special fire tax to $125 per unit — a single-family residence is four units — or $500 per household per year. The current assessment is $100 for a single-family residence.

24th Congressional District — In unofficial returns Tuesday, Democrat Salud Carbajal received 32.7 percent of the vote, while second place was difficult to call with Republicans Justin Fareed and Katcho Achadjian getting 20.5 percent to 18.9 percent, respectively.

35th Assembly District — Democrat Dawn Ortiz-Legg will face off against Republican Jordan Cunningham in the race to succeed termed-out Republican Assemblyman Katcho Achadjian. Ortiz-Legg received 44.9 percent of the vote, followed by Cunningham’s 37.3 percent in the battle for the 35th District Assembly seat, according to unofficial results from the California Secretary of State.

Board of Supervisors — Adam Hill and Dan Carpenter advanced to the Nov. 8 general election in the District 3 race. Hill took 42.3 percent of the vote, Carpenter 31.2 percent and former Grover Beach mayor Debbie Peterson 26.3 percent in unofficial returns Tuesday night. Meanwhile, Supervisor Debbie Arnold defeated challenger Eric Michielssen 53 percent to 47 percent in unofficial returns to retain her District 5 seat. In the District 1 race, unofficial results had John Peschong leading with 45.6 percent of the vote, with Paso Robles Mayor Steve Martin at 35.2 percent.