Judges elect Martin Tangeman to lead SLO Superior Court

The 11 judges of the San Luis Obispo Superior Court elected Martin Tangeman as presiding judge and Barry LaBarbera as assistant presiding judge Friday.

Both will begin their two-year terms Jan. 1.

California courts with two or more judges are required to elect a presiding judge, who leads the court in establishing policies and allocating resources. In San Luis Obispo, the court’s judges elect for the executive positions every two years, according to a courthouse news release.

Tangeman, who will succeed current Presiding Judge Dodie Harman, was appointed to San Luis Obispo Superior Court by Gov. Gray Davis in 2001. Prior to his appointment, Tangeman practiced civil law for 23 years after receiving his juris doctorate from the University of California Hastings College of Law. He previously served as SLO Superior Presiding Judge from 2008 through 2009 and currently sits on the California Judicial Council.

LaBarbera was appointed to the bench by Gov. Pete Wilson in 1998 after serving as San Luis Obispo County District Attorney for 12 years. LaBarbera has previously served as presiding judge for years 2003-2004 and 2012-2013.