High School Sports

PREP ROUNDUP: Arroyo Grande High School boys golf team clinches PAC 8 title

Medalist Jack Avrit shot an even par 72 for the Arroyo Grande High boys golf team, which clinched its third straight PAC 8 title on Thursday with a 389-452 victory over Atascadero at the Cypress Ridge Golf Course.

Raleigh Deering shot a 77, and Brady MacMurphy added a 79 for the Eagles (13-0, 12-0 PAC 8).

Cooper Armas had the low for Atascadero, shooting an 81.

San Luis Obispo 410, Mission Prep 465

Medalist Casey Leebrick shot a 77 in a win for the Tigers (11-3, 9-3 PAC 8) at the par-72 San Luis Obispo Country Club.

Andy Eppright and Coleman Godfrey each shot an 81 for the Tigers.

Paso Robles 425, St. Joseph 432

Medalists Greg Portuch and Logan Elliott each shot an 80 to lead the Bearcats to a win over the Knights at the par-72 Hunter Ranch Golf Course.

Cody Autry and Bailey Flickinger each shot an 86 in the win.

Morro Bay Tournament

Nipomo took the team portion with a score of 409, and Markus Lund of Orcutt Academy and Ray Navis of Nipomo each shot a 75 to co-medal at the par-72 Morro Bay Golf Course.

Garrett Holdstock shot a 91 and Lucas Garcia had a 99 as Morro Bay took sixth place.


Ojai Invitational

Atascadero’s Brendan Adams fell to Anderson Ju of Cerritos 6-3, 6-1 in his first round singles match, and the San Luis Obispo doubles team of Noah Cleere and Alexander Dill dropped consecutive sets 6-3, 6-0 to Windward’s Zachary Elbaum and Matthew Lurie and were eliminated.

Paso Robles 11, St. Joseph 7

Mayer Pohlad swept his sets 6-0, 6-0, 6-1 to lead the Bearcats (4-9, 1-9 PAC 8) to their first league win of the season.

The doubles tandem of Ryan Weber and Ryan Stronks won two of three sets, going 7-6 (7-1), 2-6, 7-5, as did the doubles team of Dean Kim and Austin Andrews, which won 6-4,

4-6, 6-3.

Templeton 15, Santa Maria 3

Jarred Hall won 6-1, 6-0, 6-0, and Chaz Darrow swept 6-0, 6-0, 6-0 in their singles sets for the Eagles (10-6, 8-3 Los Padres League).

Templeton’s doubles teams went undefeated on the day.

Morro Bay 10, Nipomo 8

The tandem of Mark Olsen and Simon Janzen won 6-0, 6-0, 6-0, and Jonathan Tyra and Gianni Bacardo swept 7-5, 6-0, 6-1 for Morro Bay.

Jake Clark and Ryan Morris also took two of three singles sets each for the Pirates (10-7, 6-5 LPL).

Jon Johnson swept in singles 6-0, 6-4, 6-0 for Nipomo (1-9, 1-8).


Boys: Arroyo Grande 230, St. Joseph 31; Girls: Arroyo Grande 225, St. Joseph 54

David Malouf won the boys 200 individual medley in 2 minutes, 7.30 seconds and the 100 butterfly in 57.01 for Arroyo Grande (7-0).

The girls 200 medley relay team of Paige Leonard, Sarah Parson, Hannah Parson and Mikayla Pock won in 1:58.16, and Hannah Parson also won the 200 IM (2:19.85) and the 100 breast (1:14.44) for Arroyo Grande (8-0). Sarah Parson won the 200 freestyle (2:03.48) and the 500 freestyle (5:35.25), and Pock won the 100 freestyle (1:01.17).


Arroyo Grande 3, Paso Robles 0

Keanu Morrison had 13 digs and 11 kills, and Conner Howard added 11 kills in the 25-7, 25-14, 25-19 win for the host Eagles (19-5-2, 10-0 PAC 8).

Brett MacDonald had 12 digs, and Ronan Paulsen had five kills in the win.

San Luis Obispo 3, Pioneer Valley 0

San Luis Obispo won 25-23, 25-17, 25-15, led by Shea McSorley’s 12 kills.

John Duffy added nine kills, and Bowen Schwoerer registered 28 assists for the Tigers (14-5, 7-2 PAC 8).

Morro Bay 3, Santa Maria 0

Seth Ingan had 25 assists for the Pirates (7-5, 5-3 LPL) in the 25-9, 25-16, 25-17 win over the visiting Saints.

Dustin Limon had nine kills, six aces, six digs and three blocks.

Orcutt Academy 3, Nipomo 1

The Titans (1-10, 1-6 LPL) lost 24-26, 25-22, 25-18, 25-20 on the road.


Boys: Morro Bay 99, Santa Maria 33; Girls: Morro Bay 123, Santa Maria 9

On the boys side, Ellis Vavra won the 400 meters in 55.12 and the 200 meters at 25.07 for the Pirates (3-4).

Lawrence Banta won the long jump with a mark of 16 feet, 2 inches and the pole vault at 9-10.

Sierra Emrick won the girls pole vault at 12-4 for the Pirates (3-4). Marissa Farelas won the shot put at 30-7 and the discus at 83-9 as well.

Boys: Nipomo 111, Orcutt Academy 24; Girls: Nipomo 120, Orcutt Academy 16

Garrett Morgan won the boys 1,600 in 4:45.52 and the 800 in 2:12.30 for the

Titans (4-3).

Jimmy Pineo won the 100 in 11.74, the 200 in 25.49, and ran one of the legs on the winning 4x100 relay team. Luke Nickelson won all three jumps, winning the long jump at 19-0, the triple jump at 38-3 and the high jump at 5-8.

Taylor Witcher won the girls 1,600 in 5:35.70, the 800 at 2:32.90 and was on the winning 4x400 relay team. Bree Favela won the 100 at 13.80 and the 200 at 29.71, and Amaris Baxter won the 300 hurdles in 58.87. Lauren Iliff won all three jumps, winning the long jump at 14-3, the triple jump at 29-10 and the high jump at 4-6 for the Titans (5-2).