High School Sports

PREP ROUNDUP: SLO High track team sweeps team titles at Salinas meet

The San Luis Obispo High boys and girls track and field teams won both team portions at the Bill Kearny Invitational in Salinas on Saturday.

The boys 4x100-meter relay team of Cory Holt, Nate Greenelsh, Andrew Toh and Ray Smith placed first in 43.42 seconds, and Smith also won the 400 in 50.35. Trent Abbott won the 300 hurdles in 42.69, and Callum Bolger won the 3,200 in 9:59. The 4x400 relay team of Abbott, Greenelsh, Cole Halfman and Ethan McSwain won in 3:33, and David Chellsen won the shot put in 46 feet, 11 inches and was second in discus (154-5) en route to being named the meet’s Most Outstanding Thrower.

For the San Luis Obispo girls, Sarah Attala won the 100 hurdles in 17.40 and was second in the 300 (50.41). Shaina Morris placed first in the 400 in 1:00.49.

Mission Prep placed seventh in the boys and ninth in the girls team scores. For the boys, Max Basile placed third in the high jump at 5-8, and Shareef Wahba was third in both the shot put (44-5) and the discus (136-2).

In the girls events, the 4x100 relay team of Jenna Lee, Paige Baxtresser, Alyssa Caldera and I’raya Smith was third with a time of 51.79. Caldera won the 200 in 26.77 and placed second in the 400 (50.08). In the 100, Baxtresser was second (13.42) and Lee was third (13.43). Alyssa Simmons was second in the high jump (4-8) and the 4x400 team of Baxtresser, Caldera, Lee and Jacqueline San Jule placed second (4:13.78).

On Friday, San Luis Obispo’s William Ernst won the 3,200 in 9:06 at Mt. SAC after The Tribune went to press.

West Coast Relays

Kristen Thompson was second for Paso Robles in the girls invitational discus event (126-3) held in Buchanan. The girls 4x400 relay team of Madison Moore, Claire Ferrell, Ashley Davis and Gwen Lundy won the seeded race in 4:04.93, and Moore ran the invitational 800 in 2:15.95 — a school record.

For Arroyo Grande, the girls 4x100 relay team of Vanlisa Phung, Bronte Cichlar, Chiara Cipolla and Josephine Graeber was fourth in the seeded race with a time of 50.51. In the girls seeded 1,600, Haley Chavez was third at 5:21.12, and in the invitational shot put, Samantha Henkel was second (40-6). Katie Howell won the girls seeded 3,200 in 12:15.44.

In the girls invitational 800, Talley Hill placed third in a school-record time of 2:12.52, and teammate Angie Gemignani was sixth (2:14.86).  In the invitational triple jump, Graeber was fourth (34-8), and in the invitational 3,200, Leza Cassidy was third in 11:11.89.

For the Eagles boys, Lester Vasquez was third in the 300 seeded intermediate hurdles (41.68), and in the invitational pole vault, Gerrit Sperling was third (13-2). Joey Rodgers was 12th (4:25.20) in the 1,600 invitational and Christian Ricketts was 14th (4:25.29).

Atascadero’s Brittany Frace broke her own school record in the 1,600, finishing in 5:07.98, and Maria Orozco finished second in her heat of the 800 (2:22.99).

Russell Cup

The Templeton girls finished second with 63 points, just behind winner Oaks Christian with 69.

In the 3,200, Kaceemar Osuna won in 11:42.46 while Morro Bay’s Shannon McKlish placed second in 11:43.16, and Madeline Ogle was third in 11:43.41.

The Eagles’ also won the girls 4x100 relay as Mackenzie Ramsey, Vanessa Urciuoli, Miriam Robles and Julia Aurignac finished in 52.86.

The Pirates’ Sierra Emrick won the girls pole vault with a mark of 11-9.

In the boys, Templeton finished third with 42 points led by a win from Clayton Mackay in the 300 hurdles (39.02).

Morro Bay’s Brandon Amato was second in the 800 at 1:58.41.


San Luis Obispo Diving Invitational

Keenan Harris won the boys 1-meter event for Paso Robles at Sinsheimer pool with a score of 393.91.

Arroyo Grande’s Richard Niece was second with 261.3 and Charles Fox, also of Arroyo Grande, was third (221.35).

In the girls competition, Brooke Molnar placed first with a score of 353.15 for Morro Bay, and teammate Emily Rohach was second (351.35). Alyssa Shallanberger was third for Arroyo Grande with 311.50, and Marina Flores was fourth for Mission Prep (300.40). Emily Ardantz placed fifth for San Luis Obispo with a score of 267.95.

Clovis West Invitational

Paso Robles’ Josh Dewhurst was named Swimmer of the Meet, as he placed first in the 200 freestyle for Paso Robles with a time of 1:43.40, a school record, and won the 500 freestyle in a school-record 4:38.35.

The Arroyo Grande girls placed fifth out of 24 schools at the Clovis West Invitational with a score of 143.

Westlake won the team portion with 381.

The 200-yard medley relay team of Paige Leonard, Sarah Parson, Hannah Parson and Mikayla Pock took fourth in 1:54.51.

Hannah Parson placed fifth (1:59.09) and Leonard was seventh (2:18.08) in the 200 individual medley. Sarah Parson was sixth in the 100 butterfly in 1:02.61 and fifth in the 100 breaststroke 1:10.11. The 200 freestyle relay of Mikayla Pock, Sarah Parson, Taylor York and Hannah Parson placed fifth (1:44.55).