High School Sports

PREP ROUNUDP: Tigers run wild in twin softball routs of Eagles

The San Luis Obispo High softball team outscored Templeton 24-0 over two games to sweep a doubleheader Saturday in Templeton.

In the first game, the Tigers scored six runs in the first inning en route to a 13-0 win. Sabina Ybarra went 4 for 4 with an RBI and Jenae Caldera went 3 for 3 as well. Pitcher Hannah Murphy played a complete game and gave up three hits in five innings against the Eagles.

The Tigers (8-5) jumped out to a large lead again in the second game when they scored three runs in the third inning and five in the fourth before winning 11-0. Marissa Piatt went 4 for 4 with four RBI and Campbell Warren went 3 for 3. Sami Good pitched five innings and notched nine strikeouts while giving up one hit in the game.


Paso Robles, Morro Bay at the Easter Relays

Kristen Thompson won the shot put with a throw of 35 feet, 7 inches, and placed third in the discus with a toss of 125-3 for Paso Robles.

The 4x800 girls team of Madison Moore, Ashley Davis, Claire Farrell and Annie Meeder won in a time of 9 minutes, 33.51 seconds, and also won the distance medley in 12:54.

For the boys, the team of Zach Chamberlain, Josh Potter, Sid Monge and Tommy Fry also won the 4x800 (8:13.26), and placed second in the distance medley (10:53).

For Morro Bay, Sierra Emrick won the pole vault at 11-6 and the 4x800 team of Madeline Ogle, Alexis Lewis, Eliza Lewis and Hannah Buechner set a school record with a time of 10:02.29. Shannon McClish also set a school record in the 3,000, with a time of 11:10.


Arroyo Grande Diving Invitational

Four divers posted CIF-qualifying marks at the competition in Arroyo Grande.

On the girls’ side, Emily Rohach of Morro Bay won the 1-meter with a score of 361.35 to finish ahead of fellow Pirate Brooke Molnar, who had a 350.35. Third place went to Marina Florez of Mission Prep, who finished with a 321.50, and all three scores were good enough for CIF qualification.

On the boys’ side, Blake Griffith of San Luis Obispo won the 1-meter with a 492.25 as the only diver with a CIF-qualifying score. Richard Neice of Arroyo Grande finished second with a 274.60, and fellow Eagle Charles Fox finished third with a 212.50.