High School Sports

Prep Roundup: County wrestlers eliminated at state meet

Atascadero High’s Karson Block lost his final match at 195 pounds in the consolation bracket of the CIF State Championships in Bakersfield on Friday night and was eliminated from the wrestling tournament.

After losing to the top-ranked wrestler in the bracket, Block won his next three matches before losing 3-2 in the final match of the night.

Teammate Seth Burchfield (160) also lost in his opening match but won his next two before being eliminated.

Arroyo Grande’s Chris Maez (182) and Paso Robles’ Oscar Covarrubias (113) lost in the first round and later lost in the first round of the consolation bracket and were eliminated.


PAC 8 Invitational

San Luis Obispo came away with top honors on the boys side, winning with 104.5 points as Nate Greenelsh won the 100 meters in 11.34 second, the 200 (22.73), and was the winning 4x100 team (42.98) along with Andrew Coh, Pricer Hitchcock and Ray Smith.

Smith won the 400 (50.63) and was second in the 200 (23.34), while Hitchcock was second in the 400 (51.55).

William Ernst added a win in the 800 (1:58.34) for the Tigers.

Arroyo Grande was runner-up with 90 points with wins from Christian Rickets in the 3,200 (10:02.82), and Isaiah Hughes in the triple jump with a mark of 41 feet, 10 3⁄4 inches.

Nipomo’s Luke Nickelson won the long jump (20-41⁄2) and the high jump (6-0) as the Titans finished with 23 points.

Kyle Van Housen won the pole vault (13-6) as Mission Prep finished with 10 points.

On the girls side, Arroyo Grande won with 170 points as Talley Hill won the 1,600 (5:12.39) and was third in the 800 (2:19.88).

Arroyo Grande also had wins from Dresden Smith in the 100 hurdles (17.58), Leza Cassidy in the 3,200 (11:22.31), and Joesphine Graeber in the long jump (16-01⁄4) and triple jump (35-11 3⁄4).

San Luis Obispo finished second with wins from Shaina Morris in the 400 (1:00.27), Lexi Johnson in the 200 (26.61) and Cora Devaney in the high jump (4-10).

Mission Prep’s Paige Baxstresser won the 100 (13.54) and was second in the 200 (27.04).


California Tennis Classic

Chase Braun and Cameron Dong went undefeated in their matches as the Tigers won two out of three matches, advancing as the second seed in Division 2 in the tournament in Fresno.

San Luis Obispo defeated Viewpoint 3-3 (55-54 games won tiebreaker) and Jesuit 5-1 before losing its final match to De La Salle 3-3 (51-49).

Alex Dill teamed with Dong for two wins in doubles as Pablo Caminada did with Braun.

After winning the Division 3 bracket at the California Tennis Classic last year, San Luis Obispo was moved up to the second of eight divisions this year.

Arroyo Grande (3-1) won its pool in Division 4 to advance to bracket play, beating Sanger 5-1 and Liberty 4-2.

Austin Bricker won 3-6, 6-4, 10-3 against Sanger and 6-1, 6-3 against Liberty.

The doubles team of Patrick Angle and Parker Turner swept their sets for the day, as did the tandem of Joe Watson and Sam Silva.


Boys: Arroyo Grande 232, Mission Prep 43, Girls: Arroyo Grande 214, Mission Prep 79

Christian Solis and David Malouf won two events each and teamed up for two more on the 200 individual medley and 400 freestyle relays in the Eagles’ home win.

Solis won the boys 100 freestyle (48.87) and the 50 freestyle (22.85) while Malouf won the 200 individual medley (2:05.92) and the 100 butterfly (55.40).

Jack Alexander and Chris Dichmann joined the duo on 200 freestyle relay (1:31.55), and Trent Schachter and Charlie Watkins were the other two on the 400 freestyle relay (3:23.48).

Schachter, Watkins, Alexander, and Dichmann won the 200 medley relay (1:40.65).

Shane Elder won the 100 breaststroke (1:04.31) for Mission Prep (0-1).

On the girls side, the Eagles’ Paige Leonard, Sarah Parson, Hannah Parson, and Mikayla Pock won the 200-medley relay with a CIF-consideration time of 1:57.70. Leonard won the 200 individual medley with a CIF-consideration time of 2:19.13.

Mission Prep’s Grace Oeser won the 100 freestyle (56.63) and the 500 freestyle (5:44.58), and Marina Flores finished second in the diving with a score of 152.15 for Mission Prep (0-1).

Boys: Morro Bay 122, Templeton 8, Girls: Templeton 101, Morro Bay 73

Matt Franzmann led the Pirates with wins in the boys 200 freestyle (2:07.38) and the 100 freestyle (53.05), and Lucas Epstein won the 50 freestyle (25.04).

On the girls side, Amanda Wilson and Megan Miller won two individual events and were on the winning 200 and 400 freestyle relays for the Eagles (1-0).

Wilson won the 50 freestyle (26.2) and 100 butterfly (1:01.43), and Miller won the 100 freestyle (56.47) and the 100 backstroke (1:06.9).

Teagan Trimble and Sheridan Lee were on the 200 (1:49.39) and 400 freestyle (3:56.82) relays. Alissa Marvin won the 200IM (2:20.14) and the 100 breaststroke (1:12.35), and Torie White won the 200 freestyle (2:09.85) for Morro Bay (0-1).

Boys: Righetti 151, San Luis Obispo 135

Galen Penvenne won the 100 freestyle with a time of 50.36 and was second in the 200 free in the Tigers’ first PAC 8 meet of the season.

Austin Peterson won the 500 free with a time of 5:19.80.


San Luis Obispo Tournament

San Luis Obispo beat Harbor 25-17, 25-16, James Logan 25-18, 24-26, 15-6 and Clovis East 25-14, 26-24.

Shea McSorley had 25 kills and John Duffy had 16 kills to lead the Tigers (5-0). Bowen Schwoerer distributed 65 assists on the day.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Given the number of local teams, The Tribune can't cover all of their events in person and relies on coaches to report results. If there is no information on your team or sport, it is because the coaching staff failed to report it to us.