High School Sports

Arroyo Grande sweeps individual girls tennis PAC 8 titles

The Arroyo Grande High girls tennis team swept the PAC 8 tennis championships in Arroyo Grande on Friday as Sophie Whittle won the singles title, while Angelica Gagliano and Olivia Madison won the doubles title.

Whittle defeated Lindsey Horst of Paso Robles 8-2 in the semifinals and beat Claire Bouquet of St. Joseph 6-2, 6-4 in the championship match.

Gagliano and Madison beat teammates Hannah Angle and Mary Waterman 6-2, 6-2, and then beat Caroline Burke and Anna Lippold of San Luis Obispo in the championship match 6-2, 6-4.

In the third-place matches, Kate Hardisty of Righetti beat Horst 8-2 while Angle and Waterman defeated teammates Melina Rodgers and Mekayla Landers 8-5 after losing to Lippold and Burke 6-3, 2-6, 6-2, in the semifinals.

Whittle earned PAC 8 MVP honors and won her fourth consecutive championship to remain undefeated in 121 league matches over four years.

Gagliano and Madison earned the doubles MVP and finished the year 55-4 overall and 35-1 in league, winning the first doubles championship for Arroyo Grande since 2007.

First- and second-place finishers will compete at the CIF-Southern Sectionals against all divisions at Cate and Carpinteria highs Nov. 24.

Atascadero and St. Joseph will compete in the wild-card round Nov. 11, while Arroyo Grande and San Luis Obispo are in the main draw of the Southern Section Division 2 team championships the following day.

Los Padres League Finals

Alzbeta Hermanova dropped just one game in four matches for host Morro Bay, beating Mili Proft of Templeton 6-0, 6-0 in the semifinals and Shane Sorenson of Santa Ynez 6-0, 6-0 in the championship.

Proft rebounded in the third-place match, beating Tyler Bunderson of Santa Ynez 6-1, 6-3.

Nipomo’s doubles team of

Julia Johnson and Nicole Johnson beat Reagan Mroz and Harlie Adams of Santa Ynez 3-6, 6-4, 7-6 (12-10) before losing to Paige Jensen and Eliza Nash of Santa Ynez 6-1, 6-3 in the championship match.