High School Sports

Prep Roundup: SLO’s Daigle moves on in Southern Section boys golf

San Luis Obispo High senior Michael Daigle shot a 3-over 74 at the Mission Lakes County Club to finish tied for 15th in the CIF-Southern Section boys golf individual championships Tuesday in Desert Hot Springs.

“Golf’s a funny game — you can get hot,” San Luis Obispo coach Gary Etheredge said. “He really has a lot of confidence right now, and he’s really reached a great place for playing the game.”

Daigle was one of 28 players in the 60-man field to qualify for Monday’s CIF Southern California Golf Association regional championship at Brookside Golf Club in Pasadena.

Redlands’ KK Limbhasut won Tuesday’s event with a 67.


Coast Union 8, St. Monica Academy 1

Jake McAvoy hit a three-run triple for the Broncos in the bottom of the sixth inning in the second round of the CIF-Southern Section Division 7 playoffs.

Lane Sutherland hit an RBI double to put the Broncos (18-4) up 1-0 in the first inning.

Quinten Raethke pitched five innings and had six strikeouts, and Tommy Moreno finished 2 for 3 with an RBI.

Coast Union will play Dunn on Friday. The two teams split their regular-season series, and the location of Friday’s game will be determined by a coin flip today.

Oak Hills 7, Templeton 0

Austin Alarcon was 2 for 3 for the Eagles (15-12) in their second-round loss in the Southern Section Division 5 playoffs.

Templeton left nine runners on base.

Oak Hills scored five unearned runs and one earned run in the fourth to go ahead 6-0, and scored its last run on a solo home run.


Bearcats, Eagles players named for all-star game

The first 19 players for the fourth annual Central Coast all-star game to be played June 7 in Paso Robles were announced by the FCA All-Star Committee.

Players for North team from Paso Robles and Templeton, and the South team’s Santa Maria and Pioneer Valley were listed.

Nathaniel Harris, Drake Phillips, Dorien Banks, Jimmy Pacheco, Tristan Sexton and Taylor Holden will represent the Bearcats.

Brandon Emanuelson, Max Schneider and Robert Silva were chosen from Templeton. Santa Maria’s Marco Manzo, Mauro Cervantes, Manny Castaneda and Fidencio Rodriguez, and Pioneer Valley’s Chris Carter, Mikey Ruiz, Andrew Madrigal, Rudy Lopez, Ernie Barrera and Ruben Alvarado were also selected.