High School Sports

Prep Roundup: Arroyo Grande falls in extra innings in baseball playoffs

The Arroyo Grande High baseball team came back to tie twice but could not complete the comeback, committing two errors in the top of the ninth inning to lose an extra-inning home game to Rio Mesa, 9-6, in the wild-card round of the CIF-Southern Section Division 2 playoffs Tuesday.

The Eagles’ Tyler Auerbach singled to drive in Ryan Teixeira and Nash Ackerman in the sixth inning to tie the score at 4, and Garret Ball drew a bases-loaded walk to bring home Mikey Ross in the seventh and force extra innings.

But Arroyo Grande gave up four runs in the ninth, and could only score once in the bottom of the frame.

Teixeira finished 3 for 6 with an RBI, while Ross was 3 for 4 with three runs and Auerbach was 3 for 5 with two RBI for the Eagles (15-13).


Montebello 5, Morro Bay 4

Katrina Siems, Taylor Merrill, Fallon Molnar and Alyssa Noriega scored the Pirates’ four runs, and Morro Bay (14-14) lost on a walk-off double in the bottom of the seventh in the first round of the CIF-Southern Section Division 5 playoffs.

The Pirates led 4-3 in the sixth before Montebello scored one each in the sixth and seventh.

Crossroads Christian 4, Coast Union 1

Ellie Magnuson struck out 10 and scored the lone run for the Broncos (11-5-1) in the first round of the Southern Section Division 7 playoffs.

Magnuson reached first on a bunt and scored on Ashley Martinez’s single in the fourth, to tie the score at 1.

Crossroads Christian scored three more in the seventh for the win.


Southern Section playoff divisions announced

The Central Coast’s new high school football league has its first playoff division.

The CIF-Southern Section announced its playoff groupings for the 2014-16 seasons Tuesday, with the PAC 5 remaining in the Northern Division and the newly formed football- only Northern League landing in the Northwest Division.

The PAC 5 — made up of Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles and Righetti — is in the same division as the football-only Los Padres League comprised of St. Joseph, Cabrillo, Lompoc, Pioneer Valley and Santa Ynez. The Camino, Golden and Tri-Valley leagues will also compete in the Northern Division.

The Northern League, which includes Mission Prep, Templeton, Morro Bay and Nipomo along with Santa Maria, is in the same division as the Ambassador, De Anza, Del Rey, Olympic and Prep leagues.

In all sports other than football, Mission Prep will join the current PAC 7 to form the PAC 8, while the current seven-school LPL will add Orcutt Academy.