High School Sports

Prep Roundup: SLO’s Griffith takes second at divisional diving event

San Luis Obispo High’s Blake Griffith placed second at the CIF-Southern Section Division 2 boys springboard diving championships Monday at Riverside College.

The sophomore posted a total of 493.95 points, which was second only to Vista Murrieta’s Ryan Russi, whose 11 dives totaled 542.45. Griffith’s score is second in school history, trailing Ethan Merritt’s 2010 score of 502.1.

Marina Florez, the first diver in Mission Prep swim team history, placed second in the Division 4 girls event. The junior scored 306.45 points, second only to Don Lugo’s Kristine Ordonez, who won with 323.

Orcutt Academy’s Kailey Roux was third with 301.75.

Paso Robles’ Grant Britton finished eighth in the Division 2 boys event at 376.15, and teammate Keenan Harris was 11th with a score of 328.75.

San Luis Obispo’s Jamie Stapf was eighth in the Division 2 girls competition — one of five local girls inside the top 15. Stapf scored 333.7 points, followed by Arroyo Grande’s Lindsay Nichols (ninth, 333.25), San Luis Obispo’s Sabrina Smelser (10th, 329), Arroyo Grande’s Anna Perry (12th, 327.1) and Arroyo Grande’s Alyssa Shallanberger (15th, 320.05).

Alhambra’s Brianna Thai won the girls event with a score of 542.55.


CIF-Southern Section Northern Division qualifier

San Luis Obispo senior Michael Daigle shot an even-par 72 at the CIF-Southern Section Northern Division individual qualifier at River Ridge in Oxnard to be one of 20 out of 106 golfers in the division to qualify for the sectional championship.

Daigle was the lone county player to shoot 75 or lower to earn a spot in the Southern Section championship, which is May 27 at Mission Lakes Country Club in Desert Hot Springs.

Nipomo’s Adam Burrola shot a 78, followed by San Luis Obispo’s Kush Sikand (79), and Arroyo Grande’s Conner Sandman (80) and Jack Avrit (89).

Westlake’s Spencer Soosman shot a 4-under 68 to capture individual medalist honors.

The Northern Division team qualifier will be Monday at Cypress Ridge Golf Course in Arroyo Grande.


Pairings announced for section playoffs

Sectional finalists a year ago, San Luis Obispo and Arroyo Grande join Morro Bay as three county teams who will participate in this year’s boys tennis playoffs.

San Luis Obispo, the undefeated PAC 7 champion, is the No. 2 seed in the Division 3 bracket and begins the playoffs at home Wednesday against the winner of today’s Yorba Linda-Norwalk wild-card match.

The Tigers are led by their doubles teams, as Mason Hansen and Josh Milla won the doubles tournament at Friday’s PAC 7 championships at San Luis Obispo. Teammates Noah Cleere and Alex Dill, and Luke Olson and Scott Hicks finished second and third, respectively.

Arroyo Grande, which topped the Tigers in last year’s Division 3 final, hosts Torrance on Wednesday. Eagles senior Derek Lakowske won the PAC 7 singles tournament Friday and finished 29-1 in league play.

Morro Bay plays today in a Division 4 wild-card match against Orcutt Academy at home. If the Pirates win, they face second-seeded Cate on the road Wednesday.


Atascadero’s Kim headed to Southwestern

Atascadero senior Connor Kim will play college basketball at NCAA Division III Southwestern University in Georgetown, Texas. Kim, a 5-foot-9 point guard, announced the decision on Twitter in April, but made it official at a ceremony Monday at Atascadero High.

Kim averaged 8.1 points per game last year for the Greyhounds and was a Tribune all-county honorable mention selection.


Righetti 6, Atascadero 3

The Greyhounds (6-19, 3-13 PAC 7) scored three runs in the first inning on a collection of walks and hit batters, but couldn’t hold on.