High School Sports

Prep Roundup: Nipomo downs Atascadero in battle of reigning league softball champs

Courtney Cuzick pitched a complete-game victory as Nipomo High’s softball team defeated Atascadero 3-1 on Thursday night. 

Cuzick gave up only six hits to go with eight strikeouts as the Titans, last season’s Los Padres League champions, defeated last season’s PAC 7 champs.

Gianna Abatti began the scoring for the Titans (7-0) with a two-out RBI single in the second inning. 

Vangie Lopez was 2 for 3 with two runs scored for Nipomo. 

Keara Blodget was 2 for 4 for the Greyhounds (5-2) with one RBI in the seventh inning. 

Villanova Prep 14, Mission Prep 8

Kiana Harris was 4 for 5 with a double and two runs scored for the Royals (0-5). 


Boys: San Luis Obispo 100, St. Joseph 36 

Girls: San Luis Obispo 87, St. Joseph 48

Alex Dalley won the 100-meter hurdles in 16.5 seconds, the long jump (15 feet 101⁄2 inches) and triple jump (32-5.5). Kelly McGuire won the 100 (13.0) and the 200 (27.1) for the Tigers girls (3-0).

For the Tigers (3-0) boys, Liam Stewart won the 110 hurdles (16.8) and the 300 hurdles (44.3). Raymond Smith took the 400 (51.1) and the 200 (23.9). Nate Greenelsh won the 100 (11.3) and the high jump (5-6), and Chris Toh swept the long jump (18-5) and the triple jump (40-1) for San Luis Obispo. 

Boys: Arroyo Grande 80, Atascadero 56 Girls: Arroyo Grande 100, Atascadero 36

Elijah Holt won the 100 in 11. 41 and the 110 hurdles (14.64), and Matt Willkomm took triple jump (39-0) and high jump (5-8) for Eagles boys (2-1 PAC 7).

For the Arroyo Grande girls (3-0), Elizabeth Heyde won the 1,600 (5:17) and the 800 (2:24). Alex Miro won the high jump (4-8) and triple jump (33-4).

Dominic Chance took the 300 hurdles (42.7) and the long jump (21-21⁄2) and Adam Schwarm swept the throws, winning the discus (120-6) and shot put (42-51⁄2) for the Greyhound boys (0-2 PAC 7).

Angelica Cusworth won the 300 hurdles (46.72) and the 100 meter (12.39) for the Atascadero girls (0-2). 

Boys: Lompoc 83, Nipomo 53 Girls: Nipomo 73, Lompoc 63

Kyra Meko set a Nipomo school record in the girls 3,200 in 11:49 after setting the 1,600-meter school record last week.

Taylor Nevitt won shot (35-4 1⁄2) and discus (112-3) for the Titans girls (2-0).

For the boys, Kendick Keszler won the high jump (5-10), long jump (18-3 1⁄2) and triple jump (39-9 1⁄2) for Nipomo (1-1). 

BOYS: Morro Bay 111, Santa Ynez 31; GIRLS: Morro Bay 89.5, Santa Ynez 52.5

Damen Davies won the 200 in 23.89 for the Morro Bay boys (1-2) in Santa Ynez.

Allie Sulaitis led the Morro Bay girls, winning the mile (5:24.58) and the 800 (2:27.14).


Arroyo Grande 3, Nipomo 0

Chandler Mankins had three kills and seven blocks in the Eagles’ 25-3, 25-13, 25-14 win over Nipomo (1-5).

Kyle Skinner had nine digs, Kris Kleinsmith had five and David Sun had three kills for Arroyo Grande (4-0). 

San Marcos 3, San Luis Obispo 1

Parker Lauritzen had 11 kills for the Tigers as they fell to the Royals 20-25, 25-15, 25-13, 25-18. 

Shea McSorley added 10 kills, and Kieran Hansen had 30 assists for San Luis Obispo (4-1).

Templeton 3, Santa Ynez 0

With 15 kills and three aces, Henri Cherry led the Titans in their 25-18, 25-14, 25-17 sweep. 

Tobey Isbell had 10 kills, Will Mehring had 13 kills and Jordan Scully had three aces for Templeton (5-0, 1-0 LPL). 


BOYS: San Luis Obispo 218, St. Joseph 33; GIRLS: San Luis Obispo 210,  St. Joseph 57

The Tigers boys won every event as San Luis Obispo (4-0, 3-0 PAC 7) defeated the Knights.

Winners for the Tigers include Evan Holtz, who won the 200-yard freestyle in 1:54.4 and the 500 freestyle in 4:59.6.

Tyler Andree won the 200 individual medley (2:09.2) and 100 breaststroke for San Luis Obispo (1:06.5), while teammate Graham Johnson won the 100 freestyle in 50.5.

Katie Done led the Tigers (4-0) girls with wins in the 200 IM (2:26.2) and 100 backstroke. 


Atascadero 10, Paso Robles 8

Elias Jordan and Jacob Hass both won two singles sets to lead  the Greyhounds (1-1 PAC 7) to the win.

The Atascadero doubles teams of Jerry Oayong and Ramon Gonzalez, and Andy Velazquez and Andrew Ramirez won two of three sets.

Austin Cooper swept his singles sets 6-1, 6-0, 6-0 to remain undefeated on the season for the Bearcats (1-4, 1-2).

Arroyo Grande 14, Pioneer Valley 4

Sean Hollister didn’t give up a point as he swept his singles sets 6-0, 6-0, 6-0 for the Eagles (8-2, 3-0 PAC 7) in their home win. 

Arroyo Grande’s doubles team of Derek Lakowske and Cole Laughton swept 6-1, 6-1 6-0. Bryan Rozo and Tyler Anderson also swept for the Eagles 6-1, 6-3, 6-1.

San Marcos 10, San Luis Obispo 8

Josh Milla and Sean Hicks swept 6-0, 6-0, 6-3 in doubles for the Tigers (5-2) in their road loss.

The doubles team of Luke Iunker and Noah Cleere also swept 6-1, 6-2, 7-5 for San Luis Obispo.

Templeton 16, Morro Bay 2

Jared Hall, Andrew Heim and Michael Murray swept in singles for the Eagles (6-0, 2-0 LPL).

The doubles team of Calvin Pinson and Chris Wallace swept 6-3, 6-1, 6-1.

For Morro Bay (1-2, 0-1) the doubles team of Jeremy Neilson and Taylor Williams won two of three sets.

Orcutt Academy 16, Coast Union 2

John McElgunn won the only two sets for the Broncos (0-5) in singles. 


PAC 7 Tournament at Righetti

Mitch Martin was the medalist with a 2-over 74 to lead Arroyo Grande to the team win at Rancho Maria Golf Course.

The Eagles finished with a score of 397, followed by San Luis Obispo (401), Atascadero (409), Righetti (414), St. Joseph (437), Paso Robles (451) and Pioneer Valley (505).

Also for Arroyo Grande, Alex Linn shot a 75.

Grady Smith (76) led the Tigers. Justin Roxbrough and Brandon Erickson shot 79s for Atascadero. Scott Rigdon (84) led Paso Robles.