High School Sports

Prep Roundup: County wrestlers bow out at state tournament

Paso Robles High’s Kevan Garcia won three matchups in the 138-pound weight class, and lost in the wrestlebacks, marking the furthest any county wrestler made it at the CIF Wrestling State Championships on Friday in Bakersfield.

Garcia defeated Jesse Taylor of Poway by default, then defeated Chester’s Rocklin Loranger 10-4, before losing to Clovis’ Jason Ladd, by fall in 3:57.

Garcia then lost to Tyler Noon of Oakdale, 12-4, in the wrestlebacks.

Morro Bay’s Dolin Mininni (138) fell to Buchanan’s Racelis Cardenas 5-4, and then fell to Daniel Valles of Northview in the wrestlebacks. Atascadero’s Andrew Bittle (195) fell to Alex Campos by fall in 2:30. He then defeated Washington’s Jason Shen by fall in 1:00 in the wrestlebacks, before losing in the next round to Carlsbad’s Chance Eskam by fall at 3:54.

At 220 pounds, Paso Robles’ Deonte Willis fell to Sean Medley of Wasco in 3:49 but defeated Dakota Album of Maria Carrillo 9-3 in the westlebacks. Willis, however, lost to Andrew Sanchez of Golden West, 3-2.

At 285, Nipomo’s Brett Kimball lost to Hildelv Manzur of Palma 7-3, and then fell to Narisco Juarez of Sanger 5-2 in the wrestlebacks.At 132 pounds, Abe Halterman fell to Bakersfield’s Micah Cruz by technical fall 15-0. He then lost to Turlock’s Issac Bertalotto 6-3 in the wrestlebacks.

All of the county wrestlers were eliminated from the tournament Friday.


Morro Bay 4, San Luis Obispo 3, 10 innings

The Tigers were able to tie it after trailing by three runs, but Morro Bay’s game-winning home run in the top of the 10th crushed the hope of any San Luis Obispo comeback.

Madi Waiters went 2 for 5 with an RBI, while Andrea Reynolds went 2 for 4 for San Luis Obispo (1-1).

The Tigers trailed 3-0 before scoring two runs in the bottom of the sixth. Waiters then drove home Reynolds to tie it at three with two outs in the bottom of the seventh.

For Morro Bay, Marissa Tabares pitched seven innings and allowed three runs on eight hits.

Jasmine Singh had three hits for the Pirates.

Arroyo Grande 6, Lompoc 3

Jill Compton had 15 strikeouts and gave up five hits as the Eagles (2-0) won.

Arroyo Grande’s Charlotte Yracheta and Nicolette Morris both went 2 for 3.

Paso Robles 1, Nipomo 0, 8 innings

The Bearcats (3-0) won in the bottom of the eighth inning when Jenna Wookey drove in Alyssa Mead for the game-winning score.

Wookey went 2 for 4, and Kelly Reynolds went 1 for 3 with a triple for Paso Robles.

Nipomo’s Courtney Cuzick had five strikeouts, one walk and allowed six hits. At the plate, she was 3 for 4 with two doubles.

Destiny Fryckman hit a triple and went 2 for 4 for Nipomo (1-1).


Dunn 19, North County Christian 5

Keelan Willison went 3 for 4 with a double and a run, but the Crusaders fell to the Earwigs.

Daniel Katches went 2 for 2, walked once, scored a run and had an RBI for North County Christian. Sam Crespo went 2 for 4.


Arroyo Grande at Clovis Tournament

Arroyo Grande lost both of its matchups.

In their first match, the Eagles fell to Palo Alto, 4-3. Eli Whittle won 6-4, 6-4, Sean Hollister won 6-1, 6-3, and Jordan Hayashi won 6-2, 6-4 for the Eagles (1-2).

Arroyo Grande then lost to San Jose, 5-2. Whittle won 6-1, 3-6, 11-9 and Hollister won 6-2, 6-2.

“We played in a very tough Division 1 and received some great experience and played some tough, close matches,” Eagles coach Lori Hollister said.

Arroyo Grande plays in two rounds today for 13th place out of a 120-team tournament.

Sierra Pacific 5, Coast Union 4

The Broncos fell to Sierra Pacific in their season opener.

John McElgunn won in singles 8-4, and then in doubles 8-6 with Jose Plasencia.

In singles, both Luis Gonzalez and Jumel Mislang won 8-2 for Coast Union (0-1).


BOYS: San Luis Obispo 109, Paso Robles 51; GIRLS: San Luis Obispo 109, Paso Robles 73

The Tigers (2-0, 1-0 PAC 7) edged the Bearcats on both the boys and girls side to give both teams their first league wins of the season.

On the boys side, San Luis Obispo’s Nolan Morgan won the 100-yard freestyle in 51.75 seconds, and Chase Anderson won the 500 freestyle in 5 minutes, 30.79 seconds.

The team of Graham Johnson, Eric Erbstoesser, Alan Peterson and Nolan Morgan posted a CIF-qualifying time of 3:25.54 to win the 400 freestyle relay.

On the girls side, Gabby Penvenne won the 100 butterfly in 1:02.59 and the 100 backstroke in 1:04.72.

Collin Moore placed first in the 100 butterfly for the Bearcats with a time of 56.72. Paso Robles’ Morgan Moore won the boys 100 breaststroke in 1:11.36.

For the Bearcats girls, Amanda Oliver placed first in the 200 freestyle (2:08.33) and the 500-yard freestyle (5:37.31).

Paso Robles’ Sierra Mosely won the 200 individual medley (2:08.33), and Amanda Gritzfeld placed first in the 1-meter diving.

GIRLS: Arroyo Grande 189, Righetti 120

Morgan Clarke won the 50-yard freestyle for the Eagles with a time of 26.93 and also won the 100 freestyle (59.84). Mia Schachter placed first in the 100 butterfly (59.70) and the 100-yard breaststroke (1:08.29).

Clarke, Schachter, Claren Ruth and Corryn Haynes won the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:49.40.

In the 200 freestyle relay, Kyndal Jackson, Elise Hazel, Kelsey Docouto and Carly Alex won for Arroyo Grande with a time of 1:53.48. Docouto, Haynes, Schachter and Ruth also won the 200-yard medley relay (1:57.82).