High School Sports

Prep Roundup: Arroyo Grande football players earn all-state honors

Several prep football players from the San Luis Obispo County were selected to the 33rd annual edition of the ESPNHS Cal-Hi Sports All-State Football Team, which was released in a series of online articles this week.

The Arroyo Grande High Eagles — the reigning CIF-Southern Section Western Division champions — grabbed most of the attention, with kicker Garrett Owens making the second-team offense, lineman Garrett Weinreich landing on the third-team offense and Brent VanderVeen making the multi-purpose third team as a quarterback and running back.

Surprisingly, Arroyo Grande linebacker Seth Jacobs, a four-star recruit, did not make the all-state cut.

This year, Cal-Hi Sports expanded its selections to 30 members on the second team, 30 on third team and 60 on fourth team.

Cal-Hi Sports also featured an all-state team for medium schools, with Templeton lineman Casey Dakin earning a spot on its first-team offense.


San Luis Obispo 4, Mission Prep 1

Matthew Connely scored twice, and Jordan Knauer and Travis Caldwell scored one goal each as the Tigers (15-1) defeated the cross-town rival Royals.

Nipomo 10, Morro Bay 0

Caleb Doane scored five goals and assisted on another, Buddy Kichler had five assists and scored a goal and the Titans (9-9-3, 7-2 Los Padres League) dominated the Pirates in Morro Bay.

Kenny Cromer scored twice for Nipomo.

Coast Union 2, Cabrillo 0

Luis DeAlba and Alex Bautista both scored to help lead the Broncos (9-2-2) to the win.

Goalkeepers Juan Leonardo and Andy Gordon combined for five saves.


Nipomo 2, Morro Bay 0

Cristina Ozzimo scored both Titan goals to lead Nipomo (9-6-2, 5-3-1 LPL) to a home win over the Pirates.

Brianna Gonzales and Ebony Quarles had four saves in the combined shutout for the Titans.

Hannah Meisinger had eight saves in goal for Morro Bay.

Templeton 2, Santa Maria 0

Heather Fields scored in the first half, and Lindsey Wyatt scored in the second for the Eagles (3-3 LPL).


San Luis Obispo 5, Paso Robles 4, OT

Elizabeth Waddell scored three goals to lead the Tigers (6-2 PAC 7) to the overtime victory over the Bearcats (8-12, 4-5 PAC 7).

Trailing 3-2 in the fourth quarter, Waddell scored with 33 seconds left to tie the score and send the game into overtime.

After both teams scored early in overtime, Waddell had the winning goal with 1:35 left on the clock.

Abby Hollister and Kimi McCarty had a goal apiece for San Luis Obispo.

Lauren Rodriguez, Emily Shoemnauer, Stephanie Smith and Zoey Zepp scored goals for Paso Robles.

Arroyo Grande 13, Atascadero 8

Katie Sverchek, Katie Romine and Kelsey Hitchen scored three goals each, and Alexis Elias added two as the Eagles (9-2) remained unbeaten in PAC 7 play at 9-0.

Madison Ochotorena and Morgan Clark each added a goal, and Kylie Anderson and Hannah Wadlow combined for 12 saves in goal for Arroyo Grande.