High School Sports

Arroyo Grande leads all-CIF-Southern Section football team

A month after the season ended, the Arroyo Grande High football still continues to dominate.

Eight Eagles were recognized in Wednesday’s announcements of the all-CIF Southern Section teams, including having senior quarterback Brent VanderVeen named offensive player of the year and senior defensive back Seth Jacobs named defensive player of the year in the Western Division.

Tom Goossen, who guided the Eagles to their first division title in 13 years after a 42-14 win over Culver City on Dec. 9, won the coach of the year award.

Though other players in the San Luis Obispo County were scattered all across the Western Division, Northwest Division and Northeast Division teams, the Eagles were hard to ignore. VanderVeen made the offensive team along with Arroyo Grande senior running back Gabe Deleon, senior receiver Garrett Owens and senior lineman Garrett Weinreich. Besides Jacobs, senior linebacker Henry Adelman and senior linemen Morgan Beaudoin and James King also made the defensive team.

San Luis Obispo senior running back Jacob Flores and junior linebacker Jack Ferguson were the other county’s representatives in theWestern Division.

In the Northwest Division, Templeton senior offensive lineman Casey Dakin and junior defensive lineman Ross Berry earned all-Southern Section recognition. Both were part of a Templeton team that achieved back-to-back appearances in the division’s semifinals.

Templeton’s Los Padres League foes — Lompoc and Cabrillo — both ruled spots in the offensive and defensive teams, with the Braves — just like Arroyo Grande in the Western Division — sweeping the individual honors. Junior running back Lavon Coleman and senior defensive back Colton Concellos were named offensive and sefensive players of the year, respectively, and their coach, Andrew Jones, was chosen as the coach of the year after winning back-to-back division titles and finishing with a 14-0 record.

Eight other Lompoc players received recognition, as senior offensive linemen Orlando Arciniega and Luis Ruiz, junior utility player Taylor Cornejo, senior tight end Aaron Kucharski and senior kicker Jose Morales, sophomore defensive lineman Ainuu Taua, junior linebacker Willie Iribarren and senior linebacker Joe Valla earned spots.

Cabrillo senior receiver Jeff Aldridge, senior defensive back Dan French, senior linebacker TJ Babauta and utility player Isaiah Montes also made the all-section teams.

Junior receiver Joey Hall of Mission Prep, which operates as an independent, was named to the Northeast Division offensive team.

There were no second teams or honorable mentions in the Western Division, Northwest Division and Northeast Division selections.