High School Sports

Atascadero High wrestling team wins O'Reilly tournament

The Atascadero High wrestling team had four champions and 16 placewinners en route to winning the team title at the Michael O’Reilly Memorial Tournament at San Luis Obispo High on Saturday.

The tournament was a breakout for sophomores Matt Ducaffe and Travis Wessel, who are either sharing time or playing backup roles in the Greyhounds’ regular rotation.

Ducaffe took the title at 189 pounds, and Wessel won the heavyweight division. Kyle Willard (130 pounds) and Elijah Jackson (152) were the other Atascadero champions.

The Greyhounds finished with 168.5 points. Santa Ynez (124) and Santa Maria (115) rounded out the top three, according to Atascadero coach Jeff Spiller.

Jack Clemmensen (112), Matt Weir (152), Dylan Reid (152) and Andrew Bittle (heavyweight) each placed second. Josh Osorio (119), Able Halterman (140), J.D. Mac (145) and Shane Branham (16) were third.

No other teams’ results were reported.

Atascadero has a dual with Pioneer Valley on Tuesday before hosting a 20-team tournament this weekend.