Cuesta College

College Roundup: Cuesta captures tournament crown

Tournament Most Valuable Player Malte Kramer scored 29 points to lead Cuesta College to an 89-77 win Sunday over DeAnza in the championship game of the Foothill Tournament in Los Altos.

Casey Rogers added 17 points and handed out six assists for Cuesta (7-4), which led 46-43 at halftime and put the game away with a 43-34 second-half edge. Rogers joined Kramer on the all-tournament team.

The Cougars, who led wire to wire, used the 3-pointer to take its halftime lead as they were 10 of 20 from long range in the opening half. DeAnza stayed in the game by making all 16 of its first-half free throws.

In the second half, it was Cuesta which dominated from the free-throw line, sinking 22-of-27 shots. For the game, Cuesta was 26 of 35.

The Cougars cooled off from 3-point range in the second half, hitting 3 of 8 to finish 13 of 28. DeAnza was 6 of 23 from long range.

Eric Heslin led DeAnza with 25 points, Drew Thompson scored 18 points and Greg Valenzuela added 14 points and 11 rebounds.


Minnesota 66, Cal Poly 52

Minnesota outscored Cal Poly 31-19 in the second half for the nonleague victory at Williams Arena in Minneapolis.

Cal Poly’s Rachel Clancy, who led all scorers with 24 points, hit a 3-pointer at the first-half buzzer to pull the Mustangs (2-5) within 35-33 at halftime.

But it was all Golden Gophers (7-4) in the second half as Cal Poly went ice cold from the floor, making only 8-of-33 shots (.242 percentage). The Mustangs finished 19 of 60 from the field, a .317 percentage, and were outrebounded 46-31.

Clancy was the only Mustang to score in double figures. Kayla Griffin had nine points.

Leah Cotton scored 17 points for Minnesota. Bri Mastey added a career-high 12 points, and China Antoine added 11 points and seven assists.


Gloria Benefield and David LaFlamme each won two individual events as Cal Poly continued to dominate the Finis College Invitational at Long Beach.

Benefield won the women’s 100 butterfly in 56.20 seconds and the 100 backstroke in 57.18. She also swam on two winning relay teams.

LaFlamme won the men’s 100 butterfly (50.45 seconds) and the 100 backstroke (50.11).