Cuesta College

Cuesta's Nielbeck earns All-CCL honors

The San Luis Obispo Blues summer collegiate baseball team had four players earn all-California Collegiate League first-team honors Monday, while the intracity rival San Luis Obispo Rattlers also placed a player on the first team.

Rattlers pitcher Michael Nielbeck (Cuesta College) was selected to the first team. Meanwhile, Blues infielder Matt Juengel (of Texas A&M) and pitchers Ryan Woolley (Alabama Birmingham), Brock Duke (Utah) and Sean Johnson (Oral Roberts) were also chosen.

The CCL season ended Sunday, with the Blues (32-17, 24-12) finishing as the league runner-up (and with a No. 15 national ranking) and the Rattlers (20-27, 11-25) coming in seventh place.

The Santa Maria Packers’ Chris Mallory (Fresno State), a former Lompoc High star, was named league MVP, while the league-champion Santa Barbara Foresters’ Chris Joyce (Central Arizona College) took home Pitcher of the Year honors.

Making the second team for the Blues were outfielders A.J. Robinson (Scottsdale College) and Austin Kingsolver (Cal State Fullerton) and pitcher J.D. Salles (Fresno State). Rattlers pitcher Richie Mirowski, a former Cuesta standout now at Oklahoma Baptist, also was a second-team honoree.

Additionally, Blues catcher Rafael Neda (New Mexico) was a third-team pick, joined by teammate Ryan Aguayo, an infielder and former Cuesta star now at New Mexico State. For the Rattlers, infielder Joe Etcheverry (Northern Illinois) and pitcher Marc Damon (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi) were also third-team selections.