Cal Poly

Cal Poly's Grosz is one of Big Sky’s best football players

Cal Poly senior tackle Sullivan Grosz was named Big West co-defensive player of the year as the Big Sky Conference released its awards Tuesday.

Montana State defensive Brad Daly shared the award with Grosz. Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Adams was named offensive player of the year. 

Eagles receiver Cooper Kupp was named freshman of the year, and Eagles coach Beau Baldwin was named coach of the year. UC Davis running back Gabe Manzanares was named newcomer of the year.

Grosz had 71 tackles, including a team-high 14 tackles for  loss and 8.5 sacks, and had an interception against Northern Colorado. He started his final 34 games at Cal Poly and ranks fifth in program history with 22 career sacks.

Along with Grosz, offensive guard Lefi Letuligasenoa, fullback Akaninyene Umoh and safety Alex Hubbard were named  first-team all-conference.

Letuligasenoa anchored an offensive line that enabled the Mustangs to be second in the FCS with only six sacks allowed and led the FCS with 308.8 rushing yards a game.

Umoh had 10 touchdowns on the season. He had 451 rushing yards and 12 receptions for 199 yards. His 60 points scored led the Mustangs.

Hubbard had 74 tackles, two interceptions and two fumble recoveries. Hubbard was also named as an honorable mention return specialist after leading the Big Sky and finishing third in the FCS with a 31.9-yard kickoff return average.

Offensive tackle Giovanni Sani, running back Kristaan Ivory and outside linebacker Johnny Millard were named to the second team for Cal Poly. Defensive end Jake Irwin and inside linebacker Nick Dzubnar were named to the third team. 

Wide receiver Cole Stanford, offensive guard Matt Fisher, center Stephen Sippel, defensive tackle Chris Lawrence, defensive end Andrew Alcaraz, defensive tackle Nick Leyden, outside linebacker Cameron Ontko and cornerbacks Bijon Samoodi and Vante Smith-Johnson were honorable mention selections.