Cal Poly

Cal Poly Roundup: Cal Poly falls to UC Davis in men's soccer

Mackenzie Pridham set a career goals record for the Cal Poly men’s soccer team, but the Mustangs blew a late lead and lost 2-1 at UC Davis Wednesday afternoon.

Pridham scored an unassisted goal in the 19th minute for his 14th goal of the season and the 27th of his career, breaking a tie with Clay Harty (1995-96) and David Zamora (2007-10) for the most goals in program history.

Matt Wiesenfarth scored his fifth goal of the season for the Aggies (7-8-3, 3-4-2 Big West) in the 86th minute to tie it. Matt Sheldon won it for UC Davis with 37 seconds remaining in regulation off assists from Ryan Gross and Hoshang Hatfie.

Wade Hamilton made five saves for Cal Poly (10-7-2, 3-4-2), which was outshot 13-9.

UC Davis moves into a tie for second in the Big West with Cal Poly, but the Aggies hold the tiebreaker. The second-place team during the regular season has a home game in the first round of the conference tournament. 

The Mustangs must better the result of UC Davis to have a home game. Cal Poly finishes the regular season at first-place Santa Barbara on Saturday, and UC Davis finishes at last-place Sacramento State.


Warrior Princeville Makai Invitational

Justin De Los Santos finished in a tie for 20th place at the Makai Golf Club in Princeville on the island of Kauai after shooting a final round 3-under 69.

Robert Geibel of Louisville was the medalist after shooting a three-round total of 15-under 201 and the winning on the first playoff hole. Mark Anguiano of Cal State Fullerton and Chad Ramey of Mississippi State also shot a 201.

Cal State Fullerton won the team title with an 822. Louisville was second (823), followed by Mississippi State (826), Arizona State (840) and San Francisco (842). Cal Poly came in 13th place out of 18 teams with a score of 862.


Big West Conference Awards

Cal Poly won five out of six postseason awards. Men’s individual champion Chris Frias was named the Men’s Athlete of the Year, and women’s conference champion Laura Hollander was named the Women’s Athlete of the Year.

Mark Conover was named the Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year. Ashley Windsor was named Women’s Freshman of the Year. Isaiah Thompson of UC Irvine was named the Men’s Freshman of the Year.