Group of past and present city council members endorses Katcho Achadjian

Eight current and seven former city council members throughout San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara counties have endorsed Katcho Achadjian to succeed Sam Blakeslee in the state Assembly.

Blakeslee this year is completing his third term as the representative of the 33rd District and cannot run again because of constitutional term limits.

Council members endorsing Achadjian — who is a San Luis Obispo County supervisor — include Tom O'Malley and Jerry Clay of Atascadero; John Hamon and Nick Gilman of Paso Robles; William Nicolls of Grover Beach; and Ed Waage, Ted Ehring and Shelley Higginbotham of Pismo Beach.

Former council members endorsing Achadjian include Paul Brown and Dodie Williams of San Luis Obispo; Gary Nemeth and Jim Heggarty of Paso Robles; Tom Runels and Sandy Lubin of Arroyo Grande; and Wil Schuyler of Lompoc.

Others in the battle for the GOP nomination are Paso Robles City Councilman Fred Strong, San Luis Obispo financial planner Matt Kokkonen, and former Santa Maria Planning Commissioner Etta Waterfield. The winner faces the sole Democrat in the race, Santa Maria City Councilwoman Hilda Zacarias.