The Land Conservancy appoints new board officers

The Land Conservancy of San Luis Obispo County has appointed a new board president, Herb Kandel, and vice president, Sue Luft, to lead its growing land conservation efforts countywide.

Along with Treasurer Jeff Jorgensen and Secretary Bob Hill, the Land Conservancy’s Executive Committee is responsible for establishing the agenda for the Board of Trustees, to correlate the work of all committees, and prepare an annual work plan that complements the organization’s strategic plan. Each officer serves a minimum one-year term with an option to renew.

“I was honored to serve as president over the last two years,” said Lisa Wise, former president.

“While the organization has accomplished much in recent years,” she said, “including conserving the last unprotected piece of the 800-acre Point Sal Reserve, there still is a great deal of work to do.”

Kandel is a California native and a 25-year resident of Nipomo. He initiated the Nipomo chapter of the Land Conservancy in 2003 and directed key conservation efforts in the South County, including the Nipomo Creek Watershed Management Plan, acquisitions in Black Lake Canyon and yearly creek cleanups.

Luft spent 30 years as an environmental engineer, including co-ownership of a consulting firm that specialized in air quality, hazardous materials, risk management and prevention, and environmental auditing.

She serves as an environmental representative and vice chairwoman of the San Luis Obispo County Water Resources Advisory Committee, and as a director of the Upper Salinas — Las Tablas Resource Conservation District. She participates with Central Coast Vineyard Team, the Native Tree Committee of SLO County, and the Paso Robles Groundwater Basin Advisory Committee.

Jorgensen, a former SLO city attorney, city councilman and county supervisor, has served on numerous local boards and commissions, including the Human Relations Commission, the American Lung Association, the Mozart Festival, SLO Chamber of Commerce, SLO County Bar Association, and the SLO County Archeological Society.

Eleven community leaders make up The Land Conservancy’s Board of Trustees.

Additional trustees include Valerie Endres, Rob DeGraff, Chris Helenius, Pete Jenny, Brooke Langle, Penny Rappa and Lisa Wise.