Achadjian named Legislator of the Year by LAFCO

Katcho Achadjian
Katcho Achadjian

The California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions has named Assemblyman Katcho Achadjian its 2014 Legislator of the Year.

Achadjian, R-San Luis Obispo, was nominated by the San Luis Obispo County Local Agency Formation Commission. The nomination papers cited Achadjian’s experience as a LAFCO commissioner and three-term county supervisor as a reason to nominate him for the honor.

They also mentioned Achadjian’s ability to build consensus and that he is a strong proponent of working with others to solve problems for the community he represents. He carried AB 2453, which creates a governance structure to assist local governments address critical water issues in the Paso Robles groundwater basin.

“I strongly believe that government works best when it’s closest to the people, and that is why I am pleased to have been honored by an association that helps promote responsible local government,” said Achadjian, who is chair of the Assembly’s Local Government Committee.