SLO Democratic Club endorses three candidates for SLO City Council

The San Luis Obispo Democratic Club endorsed three candidates for the San Luis Obispo City Council at its meeting Monday: Jan Marx for the mayoral seat and John Ashbaugh and Jeff Aranguena for the two open council seats.

In August, the San Luis Obispo Democratic Party chose not to endorse either mayoral candidate because neither Marx nor challenger Steve Barasch received a three-fourths vote of its 33-member committee.

The San Luis Obispo Democratic Club only requires a majority vote to approve an endorsement.

“I am very pleased that these dedicated and visionary candidates received the club’s endorsement,” said Zaf Iqbal, president of the club.