Los Osos woman appears to not have made final cut for statewide redistricting panel

The state Citizens Redistricting Commission will formally choose its final six members this morning after making tentative selections last week.

Lillian Judd of Los Osos, who survived a long and grueling selection process that began with 30,000 applicants, seems to have missed the final cut by one.

The first eight members of the commission — who had been picked earlier by a lottery — on Friday proposed the final six members after deliberating on the remaining candidates. They winnowed the list from 28 to 17, to nine, then to seven, and finally to six.

Judd was number seven.

Friday’s decision, however, was not final.

Commissioners put off the final call until today “in order to allow for the broadest public comment possible and allow an additional opportunity for individuals who are not able to attend the meeting personally to comment on any slate of six that the commissioners propose to select,” according to the commission’s website.

Their choices are meant to create a 14-member commission that represents geographic, demographic, ethnic, political and economic balance, among other criteria.

Judd, who has deep roots in the community, spent many years with the county’s Economic Opportunity Commission, now known as the Community Action Partnership.

She has been watching the process from the beginning, and said she is impressed by the way commissioners have been chosen and the work they have done.

“I enjoyed watching the commissioners deliberate and interact, and think they did a good job,” Judd said. “I support their decisions.”

The commission will redraw district lines for the House of Representatives, the state Senate and Assembly and the state Board of Equalization. Voters created the commission and defined its powers in two separate statewide ballot measures.

Voters wanted to remove redistricting power from the Legislature, whose Republican and Democratic leaders, critics said, conspired to draw the lines in a way that protected incumbents of both parties.

The Constitution requires that the boundaries be redrawn every 10 years, after the U.S. Census is conducted.

The eight members already on the commission are: Jeanne Raya of Orange County; Elaine Kuo and Cynthia Dai of the Bay Area; Vincent Barabba of Santa Cruz County; Peter Yao of Los Angeles County; Jodie Filkins Webber of Riverside County; Stanley Forbes of Yolo County; and Connie Galambos Malloy from Alameda County.

The six to be voted on today are Gabino Aguirre of Ventura County; Lilbert “Gil” Ontas from San Diego; Maria Blanco from Contra Costa County; M. Parvenue from Los Angeles; Michael Ward from Orange; and Michelle R. DiGuilio-Matz from the San Joaquin Valley.