Los Osos resident not picked for redistrict panel

Lillian Judd of Los Osos was not among the eight commissioners chosen in a Thursday morning drawing to select members of the state’s new Citizens Redistricting Commission.

But Judd remains in the hunt, as the eight chosen will pick the final six from among the 22 remaining applicants. Their deadline is Dec. 31.

Judd said she remains optimistic. “I am happy for those selected today and pleased that I have one more chance to be considered,” she wrote in an e-mail to The Tribune.

“I watched the interview of at least one of those selected today, and she was outstanding, so I’m confident that the selection process will yield 14 skilled and committed commissioners,” Judd wrote.

“The eight commissioners may ask for additional information and/or written answers to their questions, or may request interviews. I’m staying tuned and making myself available through the balance of the process. It has been a very worthwhile experience thus far,” she wrote.

The commission will redraw district lines for the House of Representatives, the state Senate and Assembly, and the state Board of Equalization. Voters created the commission and defined its powers in two separate statewide ballot measures.

Voters wanted to remove redistricting power from the Legislature, whose Republican and Democratic leaders, critics say, conspire to draw the lines in a way that protects incumbents of both parties.

The Constitution requires that the boundaries be redrawn every 10 years, after the U.S. Census is conducted.

The Thursday morning drawing, supervised by the state Auditor’s Office, chose three Republicans, three Democrats and two voters registered with a minor party or not registered with any party.

All had been through a lengthy vetting process that began with 30,000 applicants.

A representative of the Auditor’s Office drew the numbers from a bin, lottery-style. Judd had number eight.Those chosen were demographically mixed. There were two white males; three Asian-American women; and a Hispanic woman, an African-American woman, and an Asian-American male, according to the commission website.

They came from around the state, including one from Yolo County in Northern California, and one from the Inland Empire, east of Los Angeles. There are no commissioners yet from the Central Valley, however.

State guidelines say the eight commissioners will review the applicants’ materials and can request additional information.

They must make their choices “to ensure the commission reflects California’s diversity, as well as on the basis of relevant analytical skills and ability to be impartial,” the guidelines say.

Those chosen Thursday were Jeanne Raya of the South Coast, and Elaine Kuo and Cynthia Dai of the Bay Area, all Democrats; Vincent Barabba of Santa Cruz County, Peter Yao from Los Angeles County and Jodie Filkins Webber of Riverside County, all Republicans; and Stanley Forbes of Yolo County and Connie Galambos Malloy from Alameda County, neither of whom is affiliated with a political party.