Candidates for local races set

The deadline to run for local office has come and gone, and local voters now know who their candidates for county supervisor and sheriff will be for the June 8 primary election.

At 5 p.m. Wednesday, the deadline, six candidates had qualified to run for sheriff, three for South County’s 4th Supervisor District, and two for the North Coast’s 2nd Supervisor District.

Those who qualified to run for sheriff are retired CHP Sgt. Michael “Tex” Teixeira; Sheriff’s Deputy Mark J. Adams; former Pismo Beach Police Chief Joe Cortez, Sheriff’s Cmdr. Ben Hall; Ian Parkinson, a San Luis Obispo Police Department captain; and former County Supervisor Jerry Lenthall.

Two others who had declared their intention to run fell out of the race.

Retired Los Angeles County Deputy Sheriff Marilyn Morris of rural Arroyo Grande could not prove that she met the qualifications because her experience was not in the last five years, as required by the Government Code, according to County Clerk-Recorder Julie Rodewald.

Kevin Faircourt, who described himself as an entertainment broker, filed a document early in the campaign that allowed him to collect money to run. But he never followed through, and “we never saw him again,” Rodewald wrote in an e-mail to The Tribune.

In the 4th District, candidates who qualified are Jim Guthrie, an Arroyo Grande City Councilman and general manager of the Spyglass Inn; Paul Teixeira, a county parks commissioner and member of the Lucia Mar School District board of directors, and Mike Zimmerman, an Arroyo Grande lawyer and rancher.

They will be seeking to replace Katcho Achadjian, who is leaving after three terms to run for state Assembly.

In the 2nd District, incumbent Bruce Gibson will face a challenge from Marshall Ochylski, a San Luis Obispo attorney who is on the Los Osos Community Services District board of directors.

Candidates for Assembly, state senate and statewide offices are being vetted by the office of Secretary of State Debra Bowen, who will have a certified list ready by April 1.