San Luis Obispo County candidates set for primary elections

CORRECTION: The name of Paul Polson, a Libertarian Party candidate for the 33rd State Assembly district, was misspelled in this story.

One additional candidate for state Assembly will be on the June primary ballot, but little else changed Friday, the filing deadline for races in which the incumbent is running.

Paul Polson, a Libertarian, became the sixth confirmed candidate for the 33rd Assembly District. The seat is being vacated by Sam Blakeslee, R-San Luis Obispo, who cannot run again because of term limits.

The filing deadline for Sheriff and 4th District supervisory candidates was extended until Wednesday, as neither incumbent — Sheriff Pat Hedges or Supervisor Katcho Achadjian — is running for re-election.

Achadjian, the current South County supervisor finishing his third term, is also running for Blakeslee’s Assembly seat.

So are three other Republicans — San Luis Obispo financial planner Matt Kokkonen, Paso Robles City Councilman Fred Strong and former Santa Maria Planning Commissioner Etta Waterfield.

Santa Maria City Councilwoman Hilda Zacarias is the sole Democrat seeking the Assembly job.

Meanwhile, Marshall Ochylski and Bruce Gibson will face off in the 2nd supervisory district, which covers parts of San Luis Obispo as well as Los Osos, Morro Bay and the North Coast.

Gibson, a geophysicist and Cayucos rancher, is finishing his first term.

Ochylski is an attorney and president of the Los Osos Community Services District.

Three people have said they will run in South County to replace Achadjian as 4th District supervisor. They are Arroyo Grande City Councilman Jim Guthrie, Lucia Mar School Board member Paul Teixeira and attorney-rancher Mike Zimmerman of Arroyo Grande.

The race to replace county Sheriff Pat Hedges has drawn eight contestants: former County Supervisor Jerry Lenthall, retired Los Angeles County Deputy Sheriff Marilyn Morris of rural Arroyo Grande, retired CHP Sgt. Michael “Tex” Teixeira, Sheriff’s Deputy Mark J. Adams, former Pismo Beach Police Chief Joe Cortez, entertainment broker Kevin Faircourt, Sheriff’s Cmdr. Ben Hall and Ian Parkinson, a San Luis Obispo Police Department captain.

There are also six incumbents running in county offices without opposition. They are: Auditor-Controller Gere W. Sibbach, County Clerk-Recorder Julie L. Rodewald, District Attorney Gerald T. Shea, Assessor Tom J. Bordonaro Jr., Tax Collector Frank L. Freitas, and Superintendent of Schools Julian Crocker.