Osos man vies for Gibson’s seat

Marshall Ochylski, an attorney and president of the Los Osos Community Services District Board, will run against Bruce Gibson to represent the 2nd District of the San Luis Obispo County Board of Supervisors.

Ochylski, 61, whose law offices are in San Luis Obispo, filed to run this week.

Ochylski specializes in civil law, with an emphasis on land use, zoning and real estate law.

Ochylski could not be reached for comment. Gibson said he welcomes the campaign, assumed he would have competition, and is ready to defend his record.

His declaration, three days before the filing deadline, means there will be competition for both slots on the Board of Supervisors that are on the ballot this year.

The 2nd District covers parts of San Luis Obispo and all of the North Coast. Gibson, a geophysicist and Cayucos rancher, is finishing his first term.

Three people have said they will run in South County to replace Katcho Achadjian as 4th District Supervisor. They are Arroyo Grande City Councilman Jim Guthrie, Lucia Mar school board member Paul Teixeira and attorney-rancher Mike Zimmerman of Arroyo Grande.

The race to replace county Sheriff Pat Hedges has drawn eight contestants: former County Supervisor Jerry Lenthall, retired Los Angeles County Deputy Sheriff Marilyn Morris of rural Arroyo Grande, retired CHP Sgt. Michael “Tex” Teixeira, sheriff’s Deputy Mark J. Adams, former Pismo Beach police Chief Joe Cortez, entertainment broker Kevin Faircourt, sheriff’s Cmdr. Ben Hall and Ian Parkinson, a San Luis Obispo Police Department captain.

The filing period is winding down. The deadline to run for the 2nd District seat is tonight at 5. For the 4th District and sheriff it is Wednesday because the incumbent is not running again.

On the state level, the filing period ends today for those seeking to replace Assemblyman Sam Blakeslee, who cannot run again because of term limits.

Four Republicans are seeking the job: San Luis Obispo financial planner Matt Kokkonen, Paso Robles City Councilman Fred Strong, former Santa Maria Planning Commissioner Etta Waterfield and Achadjian.

As of Thursday, Santa Maria City Councilwoman Hilda Zacarias was the sole Democrat seeking the Assembly job.