Married couple to be honored as Nipomo's Citizen of the Year

Clyde and Teresa Cruise will receive the Nipomo Chamber of Commerce's Citizen of the Year award Thursday evening.
Clyde and Teresa Cruise will receive the Nipomo Chamber of Commerce's Citizen of the Year award Thursday evening. Courtesy photo

The Nipomo Chamber of Commerce has selected two individuals for its Citizen of the Year award — a married couple with a knack for community service.

Clyde and Teresa Cruise will be honored Thursday during the chamber’s 36th Annual Installation Dinner and Awards Ceremony at Trilogy at Monarch Dunes.

The couple joined the chamber a year after they moved to Nipomo from Phoenix. They were astounded by the community’s close-knit character, according to a biography provided by the chamber.

While they participated in volunteer events to benefit Phoenix Children’s Hospital, retiring and moving to the Central Coast allowed them to become much more involved in the community.

“They’re rare people,” said Nipomo chamber board President Richard Malvarose, who recommended the couple for the chamber’s highest annual award. “They never ask for anything. It’s always what can we do for you, what can we do for others.”

The Cruises served as ambassadors for the Nipomo Chamber of Commerce in 2005. Then they joined the board, and Clyde Cruise became chamber board president in 2006.

Clyde Cruise has also served on the South County Advisory Council, is treasurer for the Nipomo Area Recreation Association, and is quartermaster for the Nipomo chapter of Veterans of Foreign Wars.

Teresa Cruise ran the holiday boutique at the Edward’s Barn and makes baked goods for any meeting that her husband attends, according to their biography.

The couple wrote columns for The Adobe Press from 2008 to 2010 and belong to Friends of the Nipomo Library, Nipomo Native Garden, and the Dana Adobe Nipomo Amigos, among other organizations.

The couple also travels frequently and has visited all 50 states and Europe, Australia, South America, the Caribbean and the South Pacific.

Chamber leaders will honor several other people and a business during the annual dinner. The business of the year is J&M Concessions, owned by Judy Henbury; service person of the year is sheriff’s Sgt. Tony Perry; and student of the year is Maria Alcantar.

Deb Geaslen, who worked as legislative assistant for the late Supervisor Paul Teixeira, will receive the renamed Paul A. Teixeira Visionary Award.