Five county schools named distinguished Monday

Five county schools were named to the ranks of California Distinguished Schools Monday.

The Atascadero Fine Arts Academy, Mesa Middle School in Arroyo Grande, Laguna Middle School in San Luis Obispo, and Templeton Middle School were among the 76 middle schools recognized across the state.

Coast Union High School in Cambria was one of the 95 high schools chosen statewide.

Campuses are selected based on student achievement, curriculum, instruction, student support and school climate. Eligible schools must submit an application in order to be considered.