Dan Dow had broad support from North, South County voters, data show

Tim Covello’s primary support came from just three spots: San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay and Avila Beach

ppemberton@thetribunenews.comJune 4, 2014 

Dan Dow celebrates at Cafe Roma on Tuesday night.

DAVID MIDDLECAMP — dmiddlecamp@thetribunenews.com Buy Photo

In his decisive victory in Tuesday’s primary, Dan Dow won 72 percent of all precincts in the district attorney’s race, capturing nearly every precinct in the North County.

Meanwhile, his opponent, Tim Covello, won nearly 90 percent of the precincts in the city of San Luis Obispo but could not garner countywide support, according to precinct information released by the San Luis Obispo County Clerk-Recorder's Office on Wednesday.

Both candidates were vying to replace Gerry Shea, who opted not to run for re-election after more than 16 years as the county’s top prosecutor. Dow, a deputy district attorney, won the race with 53.3 percent of the overall vote compared to the 44.5 percent garnered by Covello, the county’s assistant district attorney. The numbers are unofficial with 15,408 mail-in and provisional ballots remaining to be counted countywide.

While the district attorney position is a nonpartisan job, voters in more conservative areas chose Dow, a military veteran who once ran for Assembly as a Republican. Covello, a registered independent who was formerly a registered Democrat, fared better in more liberal areas.

Dow dominated the North County, where he won all 22 precincts in Paso Robles, 17 of 18 in Atascadero and all six in Templeton. Dow also fared well in the South County, which typically chooses conservative supervisors. He won all 18 precincts in Arroyo Grande, all nine in Nipomo, all eight in Grover Beach, and all three in both Pismo Beach and Oceano. He also won five of the nine precincts in Los Osos.

Covello only won precincts in three cities, taking 25 of the 28 in San Luis Obispo and six of seven (the other being a tie) in Morro Bay. He also won the sole precinct in Avila Beach.

Precincts: By the numbers

Here's a breakdown of the number of precincts Dan Dow and Tim Covello won in Tuesday's primary election.

CityPrecincts won by DowPrecincts won by CovelloTies
Arroyo Grande1800
Avila Beach010
Grover Beach800
Los Osos540
Morro Bay061
Paso Robles2200
Pismo Beach300
San Luis Obispo3250
San Miguel100
Santa Margarita110
Shell Beach110
Polling vote by mail only510

The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service