Prep Roundup: Nipomo repeats as girls LPL track champions

Elsewhere, San Luis Obispo has three doubles teams advances to PAC 7 semifinals

sports@thetribunenews.comMay 8, 2014 

Kyra Meko, Gracie Albano and Cassie Dittenhoefer led the Nipomo High girls track and field team to a second consecutive Los Padres League title as Meko won the girls 1,600 meters in 5 minutes, 14.33 seconds.

Albano was second (5:14.33) and Dittenhoefer was third (5:20.0).

The trio continued to score points as Meko (2:22.6) and Albano (2:25.1) were second and third in the 800, and Meko (11:45), Dittenhoefer (11:52), and Albano (12:22) finished first, second and fourth, respectively, in the 3,200.

The Titans beat Lompoc 135.5-115 for the team title.

Veronica Russell won the girls 800 (2:21.5) as Templeton finished fourth with 71 points.

Sierra Emrick won the girls high jump at 5 feet, 4 inches and pole vault at 11-0 to lead Morro Bay to a sixth-place finish with 31 points.

On the boys side, Jared Springer won the shot put (50-6) and discus (167-9) as Nipomo finished nine points behind Santa Ynez for the team title with 118 points.

The Titans’ Luke Nichelson and Kendrick Keszler finished first and second in the boys high jump (6-2) as Nichelson won on fewer attempts. Keszler and Nichelson also finished second (22-5 1⁄2) and third (21-6) in the long jump.

Allen Kroger won the boys 800 (1:58.0) and anchored the winning 4x400 relay (3:29.05) to lead Templeton to a fifth-place finish with 58 points.

Austin Lay won the 3,200 (9:42.0), and Andrew Stafford won the 1,600 (4:31.17) to lead Morro Bay to a sixth-place finish with 41 points.


PAC 7 Championship

The top four seeds in both singles and doubles advanced to the semifinals at San Luis Obispo.

Top-seeded singles player Derek Lakowske of Arroyo Grande will play Cameron Dong of San Luis Obispo, while Brendan Adams of Atascadero will play Gianni Rasgado of Righetti in the bottom half of the draw.

In doubles, San Luis Obispo has three teams in the semifinals. Top-seeded Mason Hansen and Josh Milla will play Tommy Lay and Daniel Black of Righetti while Noah Cleere and Alex Dill will play teammates Luke Olson and Scott Hicks.


Arroyo Grande 3, Templeton 0

Keanu Morrison had eight kills and two aces as the Eagles won 25-17, 25-15, 25-14.

Jack Empey had 28 assists, and Andrew Midyett had seven kills for Arroyo Grande (21-6).


PAC 7 Finals

Kush Sikand shot a 4-over 76 at Cypress Ridge for San Luis Obispo to qualify for the CIF-Southern Section tournament along with Connor Sandman of Arroyo Grande, who shot a 78.

The Tigers’ Michael Daigle and the Eagles’ Jack Avrit had already qualified during the regular season.

Los Padres League Finals

Adam Burrola shot a 9-over 81 and was the individual champion for Nipomo at Alisal Ranch. The Titans finished third as a team.

Luca Bruno finished fifth as an individual shooting a 91, and led Morro Bay to a fifth-place finish as a team.

Templeton finished seventh as Jake Mundee and Jordan Fiero shot 87s.


Nipomo 11, Mission Prep 0, 5 innings

Hope Goodall gave up no hits over five innings and struck out nine to go along with two hits, two runs and an RBI for the Titans.

Nipomo (16-10) scored all 11 runs in the first two innings. Vanessa Davis had a two-run home run in the first inning while going 3 for 4 with three RBI, and Anahi Vences was 2 for 3 with three RBI.

The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service