Prep Roundup: Tigers edge Eagles in softball

Good hits game-winning RBI double with two outs in seventh to lift San Luis Obispo to 3-2 victory over Templeton

sports@thetribunenews.comMarch 15, 2014 

Samantha Good hit a game-winning RBI double with two outs in the top of the seventh inning to lead the San Luis Obispo High softball past Templeton, 3-2, Friday.

Good also pitched a complete game, striking out nine and giving up four hits.

Campbell Warren went 3 for 3 at the plate with a double and two RBI for the Tigers (2-2).

Atascadero at Miramonte Tournament

Sally Bowles struck out a total of 14 batters in seven total innings as the Greyhounds (7-1-1) defeated MacFarlane 5-0 and Wasco 16-2.

Bowles also drove in three runs total, and McKenzie Etchison hit a solo home run against MacFarlane.

Sarah Wulff and Kala Herzig both recorded three hits and two RBI against Wasco.

Morro Bay 11, Coast Union 7

Tera Covell hit a two-run double in the third inning for the Broncos in their loss.

Kylye Mettier had two hits and two RBI for Coast Union (1-3).

No statistics were provided for Morro Bay.


Boys: Paso Robles 93, San Luis Obispo 90; Girls: Paso Robles 94, San Luis Obispo 92

Taylor Paige led the Bearcats (1-1, 1-1 PAC 7) by winning the boys 200-yard freestyle in 1 minute, 49.16 seconds, the 100 butterfly in 56.26, and was on the winning 200 freestyle relay in 1:38.59.

Kohl Coffey won the 100 freestyle (53.99), the 100 backstroke (1:00.06) and was on the winning 200 medley relay (1:51.16). Grant Scheiffele also was on both relays for Paso Robles.

The Tigers’ (2-0, 1-1) Tyler Andree won the 200 individual medley (2:03.15) and the 100 breaststroke (1:04.14), while Evan Holt won the 500 freestyle (4:53.59).

Kasey Moffit led the Bearcats (2-0, 2-0) with wins in the girls 200 freestyle (2:03.31) and 100 freestyle (57.97).

San Luis Obispo’s Gaby Penvenne won the 200 IM (2:15.81) and the 100 butterfly (59.71).

Boys: Arroyo Grande 173, Righetti 113; Girls: Arroyo Grande 175, Righetti 111

The Eagles’ (3-0, 2-0 PAC 7) Zach Stevens posted a CIF-Southern Section automatic qualifying time in the boys 100-yard breaststroke, winning the event in 59.3.

Stevens was also part of the first-place 200 medley relay team with Charlie Watkins, David Malouf, and Tyler Gamble in a time of 1:51.54. Gamble also won the 50 freestyle in 22.53.

For the Arroyo Grande girls (3-0, 2-0 PAC 7), Corryn Haynes won the 100 backstroke in 1:02.92. Sarah Parson won the 200 individual medley in 2:19.91. Hannah Parson, Sarah Parson, Mikayla Pock and Haynes won the 400 freestyle relay in 3:56.64.

Boys: Morro Bay 116, Lompoc 54; Girls: Morro Bay 117, Lompoc 53

Alexander McKee led the Pirates (2-0, 2-0 Los Padres League) by winning the boys 100-yard butterfly (1 minute, 1.89 seconds) and the 500 freestyle (5:49.35).

Joel Wilke won the 200 freestyle (2:04.15) and the 100 breaststroke (1:11.14).

Morro Bay’s (2-1, 2-0) Torie White won the girls 200 freestyle (2:14.7) and the 50 freestyle (28.2), while Olivia MacDonald won the 100 freestyle (1:02.6) and the 100 backstroke (1:12.73).  Alissa Marvin won the 200 individual medley (2:21.24) and the 100 breaststroke (1:12.73).

Boys: Nipomo 114, Orcutt Academy 69; Girls: Orcutt Academy 129, Nipomo 43

In the boys 500-yard freestyle, Austin Simpson swam a CIF-Southern Section automatic qualifying time of 5 minutes, 0 seconds for Nipomo.

Simpson was also part of the automatic-qualifying 400 freestyle relay (3:39.5) with Andy Katz, Zach Smith and Caleb Sandberg.

Rebecca Gonzalez won the girls 100 breaststroke in 1:15, which is also an automatic qualifying time.

Boys: Santa Ynez 74, Templeton 49; Girls: Templeton 116, Santa Ynez 60

Jack Rush won the boys 100-yard butterfly in 1 minute, 1.58 seconds for the Eagles in their first dual meet of the season.

Amanda Wilson won the girls 100 freestyle in 58.25, and Marina Wesnor won the 100 breaststroke in 1:17.41.

Sheridan Lee won the girls 200 individual medley in 2:23.62.


Paso Robles 12, Templeton 6

Mitchell Keller swept his singles sets 6-0, 6-0, 6-4 for the Bearcats (4-2).

Doubles partners Xavier Galsim and Juan Majano also swept 6-0, 6-2, 6-4.

The Eagles (2-7) doubles team of Niles Hemingway and Tyler Bebout won two of three sets, including the final one by default.

San Marcos 14, Arroyo Grande 4

Derek Lakowske took two of three sets 0-6, 6-0, 6-1 in the Eagles’ (5-4) loss at home.

The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service