Prep Roundup: Atascadero wrestler Block still alive at CIF state wrestling tourney

Greyhounds’ 195-pounder goes 2-1 on opening day of meet, can still finish as high as third in state

sports@thetribunenews.comMarch 7, 2014 

Despite falling in his first match at the CIF state wrestling championships Friday in Bakersfield, Atascadero High junior Karson Block is still alive after the first day of competition.

Block, the CIF-Southern Section Central Division champion, dropped a 5-2 decision to James Logan’s Clayton Hartwell, knocking the Greyhound out of title contention in the 195-pound weight class.

But Block kept fighting in the consolation bracket, defeating Folsom’s Jerod Nooner 2-0 and Vista Murrieta’s Wyatt Paterson 3-1.

Block, who took fifth at the Southern Section Masters tournament, will open today by facing Fountain Valley’s Ben Madrid. The winner of that bout will be one victory away from being guaranteed a spot in the top eight. Madrid also dropped his bout of the day Friday, but then reeled off three straight victories.


San Luis Obispo 24, Mission Prep 2, 5 innings

Marissa Piatt, Samantha Good and Hanna Murphy led the offensive attack for the Tigers (1-1). 

Piatt had four hits, three RBI, and four runs while Good went 2 for 4 with two runs and Murphy was 2 for 2 with three RBI.

Cabrillo 2, Arroyo Grande 1

Samantha Oliver hit a sacrifice bunt to drive in Julianna Trevino, scoring the Eagles’ only run. 

Trevino was 2 for 3 for Arroyo Grande (0-2). 

The Eagles were leading 1-0 going into the fifth inning before the Conquistadores scored two runs off pitcher Rebekah Hernandez.

Ridgeview 7, Nipomo 5

Selina Delfin hit a two-run single with two outs to pull the Titans within two runs in the fifth inning, but the rally stopped there in Nipomo’s first game at the Bakersfield Tournament. 

Anahi Vences scored one run and drove in another for the Titans (3-2).


Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, San Luis Obispo at California Tennis Classic 

Mason Hansen swept in singles, and Noah Cleere and Alex Dill swept in doubles to lead the Tigers (4-1) to three victories at the California Tennis Classic in Clovis.

San Luis Obispo beat both West Ranch and Del Oro by 6-0 scores before topping Bullard 3-3 (7-6 on sets) to advance to today’s Division 3 semifinal round against an opponent to be determined.

The Eagles (3-1) also won all three of their matches, beating Oak Ridge 4-2, Turlock 3-3 (7-6 in sets) and Bakersfield Christian 4-2, and finished atop their Division 3 pool.

Singles player Derek Lakowske went undefeated, as did the doubles team of Ryan Stier and Andrew Arcangel. 

In Division 5, Atascadero won two of three matches and had the doubles team of Elias Jordan and Ross Schaefer go 6-0.

The Greyhounds (5-1) beat Roseville 6-0, then fell to Ceres 3-3 (7-6 in tiebreakers) and finished the day with a 4-2 win over Clovis West.

Matt Jardini was the only player for Templeton (2-4) to win, beating his opponent from Palisades 6-4, 7-5. Palisades beat the Eagles 5-1, and Templeton lost to Garces 6-5 after earning an opening-round forfeit in their Division 3 pool. 


San Luis Obispo Tournament

Jack Empey led Arroyo Grande to three wins with 18 total kills. 

Arroyo Grande (3-0) beat Hueneme 25-10, 25-11, Harbor 25-10, 25-9 and Clovis East 25-9, 25-21. Ryan Medford tallied 21 digs for the Eagles. 

Rennye Heza had 43 kills as the Tigers (3-1) went 2-1 in pool play.

Shea McSorley had 18 kills, and John Duffy had 16 as San Luis Obispo beat Harbor 25-22, 25-22, and Bishop Diego 25-20, 16-25, 25-22 before falling to El Toro 25-21, 25-14. 


Paso Robles 426, Sierra Pacific 541

Greg Potruch shot a 9-over 81 for the Bearcats and was the medalist at the Hunter Ranch Golf Course. 

Ben Elisarraraz shot an 83 for Paso Robles (2-0).


Boys: San Luis Obispo 142, Atascadero 73; Girls: Atascadero 122, San Luis Obispo 102

San Luis Obispo’s Tyler Andree, Evan Holtz, Tim Maas and Taylor Gater won the boys 4x100-yard freestyle relay in 

3 minutes, 35.17 seconds. Andree also won the 200 individual medley (2:03.66) and the 100 backstroke (59.47) for the Tigers (2-0, 1-0 PAC 7).

Scott Beraud led the Greyhounds (0-1, 0-1), winning the 200 freestyle (1:56.2) and the 100 butterfly (57.03).

For Atascadero, Maddie Burchfield won the girls 200 freestyle (2:09.25) and the 100 freestyle (57.23) to lead the Greyhounds (1-0, 1-0).

The Tigers’ Katie Done, Rio Ericson, Gaby Penvenne and Tyra Popovich won the girls 200 medley relay (2:01.6) and the 400 freestyle relay (3:55.0). Penvenne also won the 200 IM (2:17.1) and the 100 butterfly (1:00.6) for San Luis Obispo (1-1, 1-0).

Boys: Righetti 112, Paso Robles 74; Girls: Paso Robles 121, Righetti 64

Taylor Page, Isaiah Baker, Mitchell Lunker and Matt Dodds won the boys 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:36.33 for the Bearcats (0-1, 0-1 PAC 7). Page also won the 50 freestyle (23.28) and the 100 freestyle (49.81).

Cecelia Ramirez, Ryan Springer, Sierra Mosely and Kasey Moffit won the girls 200 medley relay in 2:05.21. Springer, Kelsey Lewis, Lauren Reed and Amanda Oliver won the 400 freestyle relay in 4:06.86. Springer also won the 50 freestyle (25.81) and the 100 freestyle (57.65). Paso Robles (1-0, 1-0) won every girls event but one.

Boys: Morro Bay 95, Nipomo 90; Girls: Morro Bay 118, Nipomo 63

Travis Chirman led Morro Bay on the boys side, winning the 100-yard backstroke in 59.37 and the 500 freestyle in 5:25.89. 

Morro Bay’s girls were led by wins from Alissa Marvin, Katie White and Torie White. Marvin won the 200 individual medley (2:21.3) and the 500 freestyle (5:39.5). Katie White won the 50 freestyle (26.7) and the 100 butterfly (1:05.2), while Torie White won the 100 freestyle (58.99) and the 200 freestyle (2:15.3).

Boys: Arroyo Grande 221, Pioneer Valley 47; Girls: Arroyo Grande 227, Pioneer Valley 53

Zach Stevens won the boys 200-yard individual medley in a CIF-Southern Section automatic qualifying time of 2:00.63. He also took first in the 100 freestyle in 48.89. 

Charlie Watkins, Stevens, David Malouf and Tyler Gamble won the 200 medley relay in 1:42.53. The 200 freestyle relay team of Stevens, Gamble, Clint Doucette and Hissam el-Effendi won in a time of 1:37.70. 

The Arroyo Grande boys finished first in all of their events, and the girls won nine out of 11 events against the Panthers. 

Paige Leonard won the girls 200 IM in 2:23.51. She was also part of the 200 medley relay team with Corryn Haynes, Sarah Parson and Hannah Parson, which finished first in 1:59.05. Haynes won the 100 butterfly in 1:02.45 and the 100 backstroke in 1:01.94, and Hannah Parson won the 100 freestyle in 57.00.

The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service