Prep Roundup: San Luis Obispo takes over top spot in PAC 7 girls golf with home win

sports@thetribunenews.comOctober 21, 2013 

The San Luis Obispo High girls golf team moved into first place in the PAC 7 with a 221-236 victory Monday over Righetti. 

The Tigers were led by medalist Neha Sikand, who shot a 1-over 36 on the front nine at Dairy Creek Golf Course. 

San Luis Obispo’s Nora Zakaria carded a 39. Lisa Figueroa shot 47, and Avery Martin finished with a 48 for the Tigers (5-1). 

The PAC 7 finals will be played Wednesday at the Paso Robles Golf Club.


The Greyhounds lost to the Warriors at Chalk Mountain Golf Course. 

The medalist, McKenzi Etchison of the Greyhounds, shot 43 on the course’s front nine, a par 35. 


The Eagles’ Kinsey McBryde was the medalist with a 45 as Arroyo Grande (7-3, 3-3 PAC 7) won at Paso Robles Golf Club. 

Arroyo Grande’s Tessa Oates carded a 47, and Rachel Harris shot a 48. 

Violet Lopez shot a 47, and Michaela Howard carded a 53 for Paso Robles. 


The Titans won the  Los Padres League battle at Morro Bay Golf Course.

Nipomo’s Ashley Ruiz was the medalist with a 44 on the front nine. Paige Johnson shot a 48 for Nipomo (5-1 LPL). 

Morro Bay (1-5 LPL) was led by Crystal Gaughan’s 54 and Taffy Ketchum’s 57. 



Sophie Whittle swept her singles matches 6-0, 6-0, 6-0, and Lauren Hayashi also swept in singles, winning 6-1, 6-1, 6-0 over Division 1 Dos Pueblos. The Eagles (14-1) lost only one of nine singles sets.

Arroyo Grande’s doubles teams of Joanne Phung and Angelica Gagliano and Olivia Madison and Mekayla Landers each won two of three doubles matches.

The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service