San Luis Obispo, Arroyo Grande boys tennis players advance in postseason

sports@thetribunenews.comMay 23, 2013 

San Luis Obispo High’s double team of Mason Hansen and Josh Milla, and Arroyo Grande’s Eli Whittle advanced to the next weekend of play in the CIF-Southern Section Individual playoffs after moving past the first three rounds of competition Thursday.

For San Luis Obispo, Hansen and Milla got a first-round bye, and then defeated Chris Pope and Cameron Braun from Valencia 6-4, 6-3. That pitted them against Morgan Hale and Avery Chernin from Santa Barbara in the next round, where the Tigers’ duo won 5-7, 6-3, 10-3.

Whittle had a first-round bye in singles, and moved on to defeat Buckley’s Billy Wilson 6-0, 6-0. He then defeated Gabriel Rappaport from Malibu 7-6 (5), 6-3 to head to the next round.

Sean Hollister defeated Westin Byerly from Camarillo 6-0, 6-0 in the first round, but then fell to Santa Barbara’s Graham Maasen 6-3, 6-2, ending his season with a 69-8 record.

Arroyo Grande’s doubles team of Cole Laughton and Derek Lakowske, defeated Trent Lopez and John Yaw (Oxnard) 6-2, 6-1 after a first-round bye. But the duo fell to Mitchell Kuhn and Jack Damen of Santa Barbara 7-6 (5), 6-2 in the third round.


The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service