Tribune wins five statewide journalism awards

newsroom@thetribunenews.comApril 27, 2013 

The Tribune won five statewide journalism awards Saturday at the annual Better Newspaper Contest held by the California Newspaper Publishers Association.

The awards were announced at CNPA’s awards lunch in Universal City. The Tribune competed against other newspapers with daily circulations between 15,001 and 35,000.

The newspaper won 1st place for layout and design, overseen by Presentation Editor Joe Tarica, and four 2nd places in the following categories:

Coverage of local government: Staff Writer Tonya Strickland and Assistant City Editor Jonah Owen Lamb teamed to produce a series of articles over several months on former Paso Robles Police Chief Lisa Solomon and the controversy that surrounded her in early 2012.

Staff Writer Patrick S. Pemberton was recognized for his feature story on jade diving off Big Sur.

Arts and entertainment coverage in Ticket, with local stories written by Staff Writers Sarah Linn and Pemberton; the section editor is Justin Hoeger.

Lifestyle coverage, under the umbrella of the Sunday Central Coast Living section.

In addition, honorable-mention certificates were awarded to: Staff Writer David Sneed for coverage of the environment; Staff Writers AnnMarie Cornejo, Cynthia Lambert, Linn, Pemberton and Stephanie Finucane, for a series examining the budget problems facing area schools; and Web Editor Chrissy Janocko, for best website,

The Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service